1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Monitor turns off immedialy after windows starts

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by SepiasSoul, Jan 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SepiasSoul

    SepiasSoul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    I cannot figure this out. I turn on my computer, everything loads and runs like normal. The windows bar thing runs (im running SP2) and then when the actual GUI is about to come up the monitor turns off. The monitor says to check my connections... been there done that. Ive tried 3 different monitors and all do the same thing. The computer isn't going to sleep either because it wont wake up no matter what. Its got to be a program or virus something because i can start in safe mode. Ive run nortons to no avail, and with the latest update. If you have any clue whats going on PLEASE tell me.

    Sepais
     
  2. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    You might double check what your display settings are. Perhaps they are configured for a setting that neither your video card or monitors are capable of displaying.
     
  3. SepiasSoul

    SepiasSoul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    All my monitor settings are correct, same as they have always been. The computer worked fine, was on for 3 hours easy, turned it off for 20 minutes then back on to check my email and it starts doing this. Its really ticking me off.
     
  4. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Since you tried three different known working monitors, have you tried other known working video cards?
     
  5. SepiasSoul

    SepiasSoul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    the thing is it cant be the card since it will start in safe mode and run fine. The car would either work or not work wouldn't it?
     
  6. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    I don't like to assume too much when it comes to computers. If anther card also fails, then it is not the card. But until you test you are not really sure one way or the other.
     
  7. SepiasSoul

    SepiasSoul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Alright ill try it. Ive got anouther scan running so ill try when its finished. Have you heard of any viruses or anything else that has come up causing a problem like this? What it seems like to me is that something is turning off the data flow to my graphics card.
     
  8. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Obviously something is turning off the data flow to the monitor. But I've never heard of a virus doing that. Might check Symantec's site to see if one is actually listed that has that effect...or is it affect ;-)
     
  9. SepiasSoul

    SepiasSoul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    ive tried symantec, that was the first place i went, also tried google. neither had anything. I find it very hard to beleive that I would be one of the first to get hit by a virus, then again my pc has been on for just about 24 hours a day for the past few weeks. grrr hope i can figure this out or i wont sleep at all. Thanks for your help.
     
  10. SepiasSoul

    SepiasSoul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Bob, you may just have been right about the video card... I did disable a few questionable start up items but it boots just fine to my old geforce card. lemme try my newer one again and see if it still doesn't work. If it doesn't got any suggestions for a new card?

    Thanks for everything,

    Sepais
     
  11. SepiasSoul

    SepiasSoul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    It was my graphics card... but oddly enough when I got back into regular windows nortons antivirus was currupted and had to be reinstalled as well as personal firewall. After those were reinstalled I got a whole slew of critical errors one stemming from the cpu receiveing bad data and most of the others were device drivers. o well its working now and running alright. Thanks for the help Bob, and if you have a suggestion on a fairly good video card on the lower price range, under $200 ,i would appreciate your input.

    Thanks,
    Sepias
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/323862

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice