1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

monitor vx700

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by joetech, Sep 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. joetech

    joetech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    259
    Using Gateway monitor on non-Gateway PC. Installed as standard AVG. Have video card 3dfx voodoo3. Tried to change Adapter from standard to 3dfx and message says 'not written for this device'. The standard video selection seems to limit the display to 640 x 480 and 16 colors. If I change the display adaptor to 3dfx will this damage anything?
    :)

    Intel 1.8ghz, Mb P4VXASD2+, 512m DDR,Voodoo3 3dfx 6001217,
    3com modem,cdrw GCE,cd rom Top Glory, Ls120,Win98se.
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Did you install the correct drivers for the voodoo card?
     
  3. compilerxp

    compilerxp

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,629
    I guess VIA P4 chipsets can use AGP Voodoo cards...

    If your Gateware monitor is not too old, it will blank its own screen OFF if the sync rate is too high... to avoid damage. is the screen is SCRAMBLED then its too high and you need to try a lower setting.

    But no, it won't blow up your monitor.
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    In device manager, is the monitor identified correctly? I have a Gateway machine with a VX1100 monitor, and that is the way it is identifed there.
     
  5. joetech

    joetech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    259
    Device manager shows vx700 monitor.
    Display adapters are;
    3dfx voodoo3
    Standard video VGA.
    The 3dfx has (!) on it.
    The Control Panel Display Settings has 'vx700 on Standard display adapter VGA'.
    Does not have 256 colors and can not change screen area.
    :)
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I used to have a Voodoo card on this one too, but I removed it to install an All-in-Wonder so I could watch TV.

    Did you try updating the drivers?
     
  7. joetech

    joetech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    259
    Downloaded driver from Driverguide.com but there were several for 3dfx voodoo3. As far as I can tell it's installed.
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Does it still have an exclamation mark on it?
     
  9. joetech

    joetech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    259
    Yes it does. I'm not sure if 3dfx was on the device manager before.
    Installed these files from driverguide.com;
    3DFX-Voodoo-3-DVD-drv.zip
    3DFX-Voodoo-3-DVD-plr.zip
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Can you remove it and see what windows will try to put back?
     
  11. joetech

    joetech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    259
    Clicked on remove. Screen went black. On restart windows replace with same 3dfx voodoo3 and with exclamation.
     
  12. compilerxp

    compilerxp

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,629
    There could be a good chance that he motherboard is not compatible with the Voodoo3 (AGP) card... you may want to try the card in another older computer.

    Today's motherbords will not work with Voodoo3 AGP card. Even most new ones, if not all of them. Hence, I'm keeping my PCI version :)

    What version of the Voodoo3 drivers are you using? Hacked version or last offical 1.07? Try that one.
     
  13. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
  14. joetech

    joetech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    259
    Not a name brand PC, ECS Mb. Built this one using voodoo3 card, monitor and modem from Gateway pc. Will try the drivers.
    Thanks:cool:
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168168

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice