1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Monitor won’t connect to computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MsApprehensive, Oct 15, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. MsApprehensive

    MsApprehensive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    I just received my sceptere monitor from amazon today. However the wire that comes with it is a DP to a DP. My computer doesn’t have a DP so I ordered a DP to a DVI. I hook everything up and the monitor says, “No Signal Check Input”. There are buttons on the back and I am able to change the inputs from DP, HDMI, and HDMI2. After setting it to DP it still doesn’t do anything. I’m not computer savvy so I don’t know what information you need exactly and how to get it. My computer has a DVI, DVID, and another thing that isn’t labeled but I think I can post a picture to show you if you need it. OS is 64-bit Windows 10.
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    Can you please take a picture for the other port so we can check.

    DVI and DisplayPort should be backward compatible, so the question if the cable is correct. I assume you had a monitor on this computer before?
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,007
    First Name:
    Frank
    Submitting images of the video ports on your monitor and on your computer would be helpful.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. MsApprehensive

    MsApprehensive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Here is the picture. I should probably mention that I have ordered this exact same monitor on Amazon before. It also was having the same problems so I took it to Best Buy and they told me that the buttons on the back were malfunctioning and that I needed to get a refund. So I called amazon and got a replacement which is what I have right now. The buttons on the back do respond better than the other but, obviously, it won’t connect to my computer. The guys at Best Buy told me that I had bought the right cord when I had brought them the original one. And yes my old monitor worked just fine on this computer.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    I believe the black one is DVI-D... was that the one you said was not labeled?

    What monitor did you have before (what connection i meant)
     
  6. MsApprehensive

    MsApprehensive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    The one on the bottom is the DVI-D the one on top of it is the one that is not labeled. It is also the one that my old monitor hooked up to. My old monitor was a Dell and I’ll provide a picture of the end of the wire that attached to the Dell monitor itself because I’m not sure what it’s called. The other end of the wire (the end that connected to the computer)has an adapter on it so it could connect to my computer.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    That is the VGA connection...

    Can you connect that monitor back? It may be that the computer is pointing to this connection and not the DVI. You should be able to have both connected at the same time.
     
  8. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,526
    First Name:
    Allan
    Please post a picture or a link to the DP to DVI adapter you bought.
     
  9. MsApprehensive

    MsApprehensive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    I’m sorry I don’t understand what you mean. I can connect my old monitor back to the the one above the DVI-D (the one you said is called VGA?) and it works fine. What exactly are you talking about when you said I should be able to connect both?

    Also I just realized in my last comment that I said I would include a picture of the end of the wire for my old Dell monitor. But its actually a picture of what the wire plugs into on the bottom of the monitor itself.
     
  10. MsApprehensive

    MsApprehensive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    This is the DP to DVI wire I bought.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,526
    First Name:
    Allan
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2019
  12. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    OK so it sounds like the connection is DVI to VGA for your old monitor.

    DP <-> DVI should be backward compatible with an adapter. Or you can use https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-DVI-to-HDMI-Cable/dp/B014I8UQJY for DVI to HDMI.
     
  13. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,526
    First Name:
    Allan
    OP's present cable is a one-way only DP on computer to DVI on Monitor adapter cable according to this quote on the Amazon website here :- https://www.amazon.co.uk/Benfei-DisplayPort-Display-Adapter-Gold-Plated/dp/B01GPMRXL0/ref=sr_1_4?crid=ETYJESOJ252P&keywords=dp+to+dvi+adapter&qid=1571253501&s=computers&sprefix=dp+to+dvi+,computers,150&sr=1-4
    But your adapter link is a better solution than the one in my previous post.
     
  14. MsApprehensive

    MsApprehensive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Ok so I do have the wrong cord then. Should I buy DVI to HDMI? And it should specify somewhere on the amazon page that the DVI is on the computer and the HDMI is on the monitor right?
     
  15. SeanLaurence

    SeanLaurence

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2019
    Messages:
    493
    First Name:
    Sean
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1234302

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice