1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Monster eating my memory

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by kanadesaga, Aug 11, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kanadesaga

    kanadesaga Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    I have just completed cleaning my computer from malware and unwanted programs. Yet my problem continues. According to task manager, my physical memory is ALWAYS above 90%. Every program I run eventually or initially is "not responding". I had about:blank, which hides itself and replicates and is generally a PITA. During the last slowdown, I noticed "wmpnsomething" a windows media player network sharing program, that had about 20 instances open. Not the first time I've noticed that. I really need help, it just takes me hours to do what should be done in minutes.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    76,372
    We know nothing about your computer, so please do the following in it:

    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) to the desktop.

    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.

    Information about your computer will appear.

    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19,262
    For reference purposes the topic where the malware issue was dealt with is this


    http://forums.techguy.org/virus-other-malware-removal/1151345-about-blank-infection-help.html


    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 220 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 6 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 1791 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 462502 MB, Free - 257597 MB; H: Total - 2861575 MB, Free - 74371 MB; I: Total - 953867 MB, Free - 50636 MB;
    Motherboard: eMachines, EL1352G
    Antivirus: AVG AntiVirus Free Edition 2015, Updated and Enabled




    kanadesaga


    It may not be the only problem, but certainly the main issue to be addressed FIRST is this
    You cannot run 64 bit windows with 2GB ram
    AND of course you do not have 2GB available to start with as some is being used for the graphics so you are starting with approx. 1790mb
    THAT CANNOT RUN 64 BIT WINDOWS with any degree of efficiency


    Reference the request by my colleague Flavallee - I have pasted it to this post for you


    Finally IMHO troubleshooting anything with only that amount of ram is a non-starter.
    If the system was OK before you had the malware problem and despite the extensive efforts of my colleague in dealing with that for you, then the cause besides the lack of sufficient ram, is probably the damage done by the use of the registry cleaners etc.


    You have in my opinion a choice
    INCREASE the physical ram if you can
    OR start again with a clean install of windows and see where you go from there
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2015
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    76,372
    M:

    It looks like "Walmart" sold the eMachines EL1352G as a desktop package with Windows 7 64-bit and only 2 GB of RAM. :(

    It looks like it supports a maximum of 4 GB of RAM.

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    kanadesaga:

    It definitely needs to be maxed out with 4 GB of RAM, or else it's going to keep having the performance of a turtle.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2015
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19,262
    As I said on my post 3 physical ram is the problem
    However another problem looking at the log on the other topic in the malware forum appears to me to be your antivirus and spyware programs
    You have
    Spybot
    AVG


    and I think you may have had Avast at one time


    Uninstall Spybot
    Uninstall AVG
    they are together using large amounts of ram that you do not have


    Use programs to uninstall those
    REBOOT
    run the AVG tool
    http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities


    Reboot


    Install MSE
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/windows/security-essentials-download


    update it and post back and I will advise further
    However as I have said and my colleague has also made comment
    64 bit windows on 2GB ram is a non starter for any degree of smoothness and problem free operation.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    76,372
    M:

    The last sentence in my last reply was NOT directed towards you.

    I've edited that post.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. kanadesaga

    kanadesaga Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    OK, so if I uninstall AVG what can I use for anti-virus that won't use such memory? Also how can I increase my RAM? I have done a restore back to factory just about a month ago. IN such an attempt to increase speed.




    Ps I am patient
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    76,372
    Your computer's motherboard has 2 DIMM slots and supports 4 GB of RAM.

    That means you can install a 2 GB module in both DIMM slots. 2 GB X 2 = 4 GB

    Your computer currently has 2 GB of RAM, so you need to determine if it has a 1 GB module in both DIMM slots or if it has a 2 GB module in one DIMM slot and has an empty DIMM slot.

    That'll determine whether you need to buy one or two 2 GB modules.

    Your computer uses 240-pin DDR3 PC3-8500(1066 MHz) or DDR3 PC3-10600(1333 MHz), 1.5 volt, unbuffered, non-ECC modules.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19,262
    I covered this point in my post 5. together with my recommendations of how to uninstall AVG and indeed Spybot
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Monster eating memory
  1. snuffleufflegus
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    1,145
  2. Jman117
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    406
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1153439