1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

More problems

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by tazparam, Jan 6, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tazparam

    tazparam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    :confused:
    Hello everyone, I have a few more problems, (1) I downloaded the Risk II game and when I went to play it I could not due to the version of DX thats on my PC, So i went to windows up date and got DX8.1 it works but if iI reboot my system i get this message"Warning old version of DX installed Description: Progams using DX may run slower Reinstall DX from your Matrox Cd or system disks". (2) when I go on to the internet explorer I get this message " Internet Compatability Mode: This is being run in compatability mode and not all features are enabled. Any help will be very much appericated.

    thanks in advanced
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    sounds like you need to go to www.matrox.com and download and install new video drivers.

    Never heard of the message about Internet Compatability Mode
     
  3. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
  4. tazparam

    tazparam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Never even thought about updateing video drives will try and see if it works. AN this compatability message appears as soon as i go and click on the Big blue "E" or got to my email through msnmsg. and I didn't install this at least on purpose any way the only thing that i have gotten lately is the Risk II game and DX8.1
    Wait a min. I accidentlly install web tv for windows and haven't been able to figure out how to remove it. do you think that would cause this message?????
    thanks for your replys
     
  5. tazparam

    tazparam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Hello,

    Thanks for the advice, Even though it didn't work for me.
    What the problem ended up being was that I had virsus on my PC
    So thanks again, I've learned alot since I joined the TSG forum it "GREAT".
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Okay

    You said 'resolved almost all'. What isn't? Have you fully removed the virus, and if not, what is its name?

    eddie
     
  7. tazparam

    tazparam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Hi Eddie,

    First of all i'm sorry for taking so long to reply, and to answer your questions the 2 virsus i had were " wierd" and a "worm". First i tried the online housecall site to take care of the problem and it only did so much, next i used my norton's 2001 system works and to that only did so much, so i did the only other thing i could think of and that was a format it. and that took care of it. But the so far the only thing now is that it's a bit slow when it comes to opening applications, would this have anything to with me running active desktop with 2 offline web sites showing on the desktop. I think it is. but i would like to hear your opinion on it.

    Again thanks for your replies
    tazparam
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    The running of any programs on startup will drain the rescources, and if these sites are on all the time, you may want to see if we can do anything else.

    Go to Run and type MSINFO32. If you get an error, Programs | Accesories | System Tools | System Information.
    On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here. If you cannot, Action | Save As Text File and copy/paste that way.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/64453

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice