More problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tazparam

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
8
:confused:
Hello everyone, I have a few more problems, (1) I downloaded the Risk II game and when I went to play it I could not due to the version of DX thats on my PC, So i went to windows up date and got DX8.1 it works but if iI reboot my system i get this message"Warning old version of DX installed Description: Progams using DX may run slower Reinstall DX from your Matrox Cd or system disks". (2) when I go on to the internet explorer I get this message " Internet Compatability Mode: This is being run in compatability mode and not all features are enabled. Any help will be very much appericated.

thanks in advanced
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
sounds like you need to go to www.matrox.com and download and install new video drivers.

Never heard of the message about Internet Compatability Mode
 

tazparam

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
8
Never even thought about updateing video drives will try and see if it works. AN this compatability message appears as soon as i go and click on the Big blue "E" or got to my email through msnmsg. and I didn't install this at least on purpose any way the only thing that i have gotten lately is the Risk II game and DX8.1
Wait a min. I accidentlly install web tv for windows and haven't been able to figure out how to remove it. do you think that would cause this message?????
thanks for your replys
 

tazparam

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
8
Hello,

Thanks for the advice, Even though it didn't work for me.
What the problem ended up being was that I had virsus on my PC
So thanks again, I've learned alot since I joined the TSG forum it "GREAT".
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Okay

You said 'resolved almost all'. What isn't? Have you fully removed the virus, and if not, what is its name?

eddie
 

tazparam

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
8
Hi Eddie,

First of all i'm sorry for taking so long to reply, and to answer your questions the 2 virsus i had were " wierd" and a "worm". First i tried the online housecall site to take care of the problem and it only did so much, next i used my norton's 2001 system works and to that only did so much, so i did the only other thing i could think of and that was a format it. and that took care of it. But the so far the only thing now is that it's a bit slow when it comes to opening applications, would this have anything to with me running active desktop with 2 offline web sites showing on the desktop. I think it is. but i would like to hear your opinion on it.

Again thanks for your replies
tazparam
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

The running of any programs on startup will drain the rescources, and if these sites are on all the time, you may want to see if we can do anything else.

Go to Run and type MSINFO32. If you get an error, Programs | Accesories | System Tools | System Information.
On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here. If you cannot, Action | Save As Text File and copy/paste that way.

Regards

eddie
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top