1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

more RAM and video streaming

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jethsy, Aug 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jethsy

    jethsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    498
    Does more RAM make any difference in video streaming?
    Thanks.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,492
    First Name:
    Frank
    How about submitting the hardware specs of your computer?

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. jethsy

    jethsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    498
    It is for a new laptop I am thinking of buying. It has 3 GB of RAM. It is ASUS A53Z with A6 processor, 1.5 GHz.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,492
    First Name:
    Frank
    You didn't advise the specific model number.
    The ASUS A53Z series laptop has several models.
    The complete model number has a dash( - ) and 4 numbers/letters after "A53Z".

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    Does it have Windows 7 32-bit or 64-bit?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. jethsy

    jethsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    498
    it is NS61
    Windows 64 bit
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,492
    First Name:
    Frank
    From what I can determine, the ASUS A53Z-NS61 laptop comes with

    Windows 7 Home Premium(64-bit)

    15.6" wide-screen display

    AMD A6-3420M Quad Core 1.50 GHz processor

    3 GB of DDR3 RAM

    AMD Radeon HD 6520G graphics

    Considering what you want to use that laptop for and that it has the 64-bit version of Windows 7, you should max it out to its fully-supported amount of 4 GB of DDR3 RAM.

    It's unknown how much RAM the integrated graphics will use, so the more RAM you have left over for that laptop, the better.

    ------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063682

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice