1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Motherboard battery replacement

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dklockner, Mar 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dklockner

    dklockner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    After I replaced the battery in the motherboard (an old machine; 300MHZ) I no longer have any signal to the monitor. It worked perfectly well before the replacemant. The monitor works OK with another machine that I have so that is not the problem. I removed the video card and replaced it to no avail. Any suggestions as to what I should try to re-establish a signal?
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Usually the "no signal" means that the computer is simply no longer booting up.
    The message is generated by the monitor, when it has power but nobody is home at the computer end.

    Can be confusing as people then tend to blame the monitor (a bit like "shooting the messenger")

    When you press the Caps Lock on the keyboard, does the light for it toggle on and off each press? This is a quick check that may indicate the computer state of operation, no light change means that the PC is just not booting.

    Any beep when the PC is powered on?

    Battery in up the right way?
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,540
    You might want to check / reseat ide cables, molex connectors, etc. It is surprising what you can knock loose while inside the case.
     
  4. dklockner

    dklockner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for the quick response. There is no light when I toggle the cap lock back and forth. There is no beep on startup. The battery is in just the way it came out. That is with the plus side up (away from the board). I checked all cables to see if something was loose. I checked the RAM to make sure it was in place. Any other ideas?
     
  5. dklockner

    dklockner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for the quick response. I checked and reset all cables, RAM chips, cards, etc. to see if anything was loose--nothing loose. No beep on startup. The hard drive light comes on for a few seconds and then goes out.
     
  6. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    Did you ground yourself before you touched your motherboard?
     
  7. rbltech

    rbltech

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    is you processor seated in? if not lock it down and try again.
     
  8. dklockner

    dklockner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Yes! I did ground myself before the surgery.
     
  9. dklockner

    dklockner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Yes, the processor is down tight.
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,804
    First Name:
    Rob
    May be a stupid suggestion but have your tried putting back the old battery and see if it works...
     
  11. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,540
    Pop the new battery out and check the contacts on the board. I have seen some that corrode. As triple6 posted, try the old battery. BTW you can boot a board without a cmos battery installed, so I tend to think something was knocked loose or possibly static electricity caused some problem.
     
  12. dklockner

    dklockner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Problem solved! I poped the battery out and reinstalled the old one and voila I got a signal. (incidentally that was a good question) Then on restart nothing happened so I removed the battery and used some crocus cloth to shine up the points on the board and also the battery. On reinstallation with the new battery, it booted to setup. After setting the parameters it continued to a full boot. We are back in business.
    Thanks guys for all your help!!!!!!!!!!!!!dklockner
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/340720

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice