1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

motherboard cpu upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tide2012, Feb 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tide2012

tide2012 Thread Starter

i wanted to know what motherboard/cpu combo would work with a gateway gt5411e desktop system

2. pvc_

pvc_

3. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    Instead of trying to replace the motherboard and processor (which is going to involve replacing other components) and then possibly winding up with a non-working computer, why don't you buy a more powerful and faster refurbished desktop?

I've been buying refurbished Dell desktops for the past 2 years and will likely never buy a new one again.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ... 40000010 4016 600014711&IsNodeId=1&name=DELL

http://www.overstock.com/Electronics/Desktops/Dell,/brand,/132/subcat.html?sort=Highest+Price

-----------------------------------------------------------

4. Simba7

Simba7

Not another i945 chipset system..

Ok. The maximum memory is 4GB with ~3.25GB usable. You can stick a Core 2 Duo on it, but that's about all you can do with that system. If you want to upgrade it, I'd suggest you just build a new system or buy one.

5. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob