1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Motherboard doesn't work when fitted in cabinet.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by aeost, Apr 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aeost

    aeost Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Hi, I am a new member, the following problem made me to join this forum to seek intel of you guys.

    I am having a strange problem with Gigabyte GA-M61PME-S2P (REV:1.0) motherboard. (you can see the motherboard details here.) (with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor & 2GB Ram.)The motherboard works perfectly fine when taken out of the cabinet and powered on. I have checked the cabinet, its fine and there is not short contact etc. Even I have checked with different cabinets, but still the problem persists. I have also checked with various RAM modules and with different PSUs. The CPU FAN works but no beep, no display.

    This is second time I have seen this problem, Please someone help me out to understand and resolve the issue.:confused:
     
  2. ErrorProxy

    ErrorProxy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    What do you mean by cabinet?
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,089
    If you mean the case, post the brand of case ie antec xxx123 or whatever.

    If this was a big box system like a dell, hp, etc that you attempted to install the gigabyte board into, that is asking for problems.
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Make sure that the small brass motherboard standoffs that
    the motherboard mounts to are installed only where they
    line up with the holes in the motherboard.
    One out of place will cause a short.
    Make sure you use the standoffs.
    Don't try to mount the motherboard directly to the metal plate.
     
  5. ErrorProxy

    ErrorProxy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    All I could think of is shorts.. lemme get BG-0 here.

    And I didn't install in a cabinet :)
     
  6. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Some of the factory cases can use raised dimples in the motherboard
    plate for standoffs.
    If those don't line up,they could cause problems.
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,089
    True enough. I guess we need to wait until the poster can answer the questions regarding his case.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914794

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice