1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Motherboard Drivers

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Dominice, Jul 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dominice

    Dominice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Hey,

    I just formatted and I've encounted a few issues while trying to install drivers for my motherboard. First off my board's a MSI 865PE Neo2 series and I downloaded the drivers from http://www.msi.com.tw/program/support/driver/dvr/spt_dvr_detail.php?UID=433&kind=1. For example, I'm having difficulty installing the gigabit ethernet driver. There's no execute so I'm not sure how to go about it. The C-media file (sound drivers) had an execute so that worked out fine. But for the most part, most of the files dont have executes so I'm very lost. I'd appreciate as much help as possible.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
  3. onsite

    onsite

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    605
    what you may need to do is unzip the driver files to the hd, do the mainboard chip drivers before anything else, then do the rest of the hardware
    for the ones that do not have an "execute" you have to go into system in control panel, then hardware, then device manager then to the network card or unkown devices, click the + sign then the device opens below , highlight , right click , select update drivers, then point to where you unzipped the drivers on the hard drive, you may have to go through all the unzipped locations. Alternately you can delete all the unkown device and reboot, when the harware is detected select advanced and browse to the unzipped locations
     
  4. Dominice

    Dominice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Hey thanks a lot for the feedback. It helped perfectly, thats why I come here haha.

    Triple6 how did you come across that execute?

    And Onsite, thats what my friend suggested that I do it through device manager but it didn't really work. I tried specifying the folders but I wasn't sure on how exactly to do it. If you could clarify.
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    Its an Intel controller, so Intel has drivers for it.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/485670

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice