Motherboard Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mushimo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
8
Just recently purchased a new Biostar CRU51-M9 motherboard. The issue is that it will not recognize any Harddrive and DVD drive I made sure the connections where secure, replaced cables, tried auto recognition within the bios...nada. Any suggestions? I'm thinking the motherboard might be defective. States i have a floppy disk error, but I did not install one. I've tested the harddrive and dvd drive on another computer and they work fine.

Any suggestions before I return the mobo?
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
605
the dvd and hd are PATA ( grey flat cable ) ? or SATA , thin cable ?
did you go into the bios and make sure the bios was set for no floppy and PATA HD DVD,?
I would try a cmos clear, actually take the battery ( noting which side the + is) out odf the mainboard for awhile.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
He has no floppy Norton, hence the error. The computer expects a floppy and flags an error. He needs to go into the CMOS setup and and specify that there is no floppy and to disable the Floppy drive seek and as well as take it out fo the boot order, sometimes its enough to disable the floppy and the rest will modified accordingly.
 

Mushimo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
8
Hardrive and DVD drive still not being detected on auto. When I manually try to have the mobo recognize the drives, the DVD drive is detected but not the hardrive. Sata is disabled and dvd and hardrive (both IDE) both set to master per pin behind drive. I was successful in removing the floppy drive error. I rechecked the gray cables to make sure they were firmly
placed. I do not think power is an issue as I can open the dvd drive. Upon turning on the machine, it states DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK...after inserting original XP disk in DVD drive and pressing enter, nothing happens.

Auto on mobo still does not detect DVD drive and HDD (both IDE). I didn't remove the battery though. I'm beginning to think the mobo is defective.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,599
silly question..............the hd is attached to the primary channel on mobo.... dvd to secondary channel...........right?
 

Mushimo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
8
I've built several computers in the past, mostly using ASUS mobo. I never had problems with mobo not detecting IDE hardrives or DVD/CD drives. The motherboard is a biostar GEForce 6100 M9. Since the bios is set to autodetect, I'm not sure why it would not recognize them. I've swapped hardrives and DVD drives from another computer and still the mobo do not detect them. The problem is definately on either the mobo or bios settings, not the peripherals.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
605
WHAT mushimo was saying , do you have the dvd and HD on seperate channels or are they on the same channel cabled together ? you have them both master. is your cable a cable select cable ? dos it say devic 0, device 1 on it or at there any hole in it ?
just try the HD by itself even if the dvd is on another channel
 

Mushimo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
8
HDD on primary IDE using a separate cable from the DVD Drive. DVD drive attached to secondary IDE. I've also swapped cables from another computer so I do not think the cables are the issue also.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Triple6 said:
He has no floppy Norton, hence the error. The computer expects a floppy and flags an error. He needs to go into the CMOS setup and and specify that there is no floppy and to disable the Floppy drive seek and as well as take it out fo the boot order, sometimes its enough to disable the floppy and the rest will modified accordingly.
Good reason for a floppy error. :eek: If resetting CMOS doesn't do anything, jumpers are right, drives and cables are OK, MB would be what's left.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
605
there has got to be a setting overlooked. I set up this customers Dell, that had the most confusing bios set up. Actually it made sense after i understood what was going on. I thought that the second IDE channel was on and it was not. It had SATA and PATA all listed together. i think i would call or email the mainboard tech support
 

Mushimo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
8
problem solved.

There's 2 settings for Onchip IDE Channel 0 and 1. Both were initially set to enabled but mobo did not work. I reset the cmos and disabled the setting and still it did not work. I reabled and it worked. took a lot of trial and error but final worked.

Thanks for the support folks.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top