1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Motherboard will not detect IDE HDD

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by booey1, Jul 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. booey1

    booey1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Hi

    I've just put together a machine from second hand parts:
    E4500 C2D
    asrock 945gcm-s
    512mb DDR2
    Radeon x1950pro
    40gb IDE HDD

    The machine boots to BIOS fine, but does not detect the HDD and there is no option to detect, it just says 'Not Detected'.

    On loading it just says 'Rebot and Select proper Boot Device'.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks very much.
     
  2. booey1

    booey1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    It does not detect the DVD either on the same cable. I have tried 2 different cables.
     
  3. pip22

    pip22

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,536
    Possibly the molex power connector then. There may be no power at the connector.
    Either that or the IDE ports on the mobo are not working.
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Bit more info......what is on the Hard drive?

    How many IDE ports does the PC have?

    Does the Hard drive have jumpers on the back and what are they set at? Try Auto detect
     
  5. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    These are jumpers
     

    Attached Files:

  6. booey1

    booey1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    1 IDE port on mobo :(

    HDD jumpers set to Master. XP installed on HDD.

    Tnx :)
     
  7. booey1

    booey1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    The HDD spins and the dvd opens and closes, but won/t read a cd :(

    Is there a way to check the IDE port on the mobo?
     
  8. booey1

    booey1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Okay so it gets a bit more weird. I've tried it with 3 HDDs, but it only seems to work with one of them and it never works if the DVD is also connected on the same IDE cable. I've got the HDD jumpers set to master with slave. Is that right or should it be single?

    It doesn't matter what jumper settings I use with the original HDD it never registers on the same cable (but I know the drive works). What could be causing this? Is there a deeper issue here? How do I set up to detect the DVD ROM?
     
  9. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Try and set the jumpers to cable select and have you tried another cable and also try only the Hard drive.

    Pic below just an example
     

    Attached Files:

  10. 20_2_Many

    20_2_Many

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    518
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1060552