Motherboard won't recognize drives

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dogbonz

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
796
Hi Troops,

ASUS AV7 - 133 Motherboard.

Normal IDE Hard drives, and two CD-ROMS.
Can't seem to gt them all recognized. I think it
might be a RAID problem. The message at halt is:

"Ultra Bios 100 did not load because no drives connected"

There are TWO sets of IDE controllers, each has a blue
AND a black base. I've tried every which way, and the
best I get is the two HHDs load, or the Two CD-ROMS
load. I can't get them all recognized at the same time, Which is necessary to reinstall XP Pro.

Haaallllpppp ! TIA

-Bonzie
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
1,756
I suggest just starting with a single hard disk and a single CD drive, that's all you need to get XP Pro installed, after that you can try adding the other drives one at a time. Make sure you have the master/slave jumpers set correctly, or just set every single drive to "cable select", and make sure your C: drive (that you want Windows to boot off) is at the end of the cable on the primary IDE channel.
 

dogbonz

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
796
Hi Arcadion,

I'll give that a try. I just have to choose which IDE controllers
to use. It's behaving like it wants to use Scuzzy... weird...

Thanks, any other suggestions are welcome.

-Bonzie
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Hi Troops,

ASUS AV7 - 133 Motherboard.

Normal IDE Hard drives, and two CD-ROMS.
Can't seem to gt them all recognized. I think it
might be a RAID problem. The message at halt is:

"Ultra Bios 100 did not load because no drives connected"

There are TWO sets of IDE controllers, each has a blue
AND a black base. I've tried every which way, and the
best I get is the two HHDs load, or the Two CD-ROMS
load. I can't get them all recognized at the same time, Which is necessary to reinstall XP Pro.

Haaallllpppp ! TIA

-Bonzie

ive had that MB the message is normal and meaningless if you are only using ide drives, there is a setting in the bios to turn it off, it is just the bios looking for any drives connected to the promise raid controller. More than likely the MB ide controller is dieing, mine did.
 

dogbonz

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
796
Aaaarrrrrgggghhh,

Finally got the ASUS Motherboard A7A-133 to "see" the drives......

But it won't boot up..... Tried setting the order of boot-up to:

Plexor CD-ROM (1)
Legacy Floppy (2)
Maxtor HDD (3)

Nuthin' This is getting VERY weird....

Ideas ????

-bonzie
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Try a different cd or cd drive. Mismatched ram and bad hard drive are the other reasons.
 

dogbonz

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
796
Thanks for the suggestions, but the motherboard
is to be roasted on a very hot fire.

Nothing would boot, not the HDD, the Floppy, nor
two different CD-Roms.

At this point the headwinds are just too strong. I
broke down and bought a new motherboard.

Thanks Guys,

-bonzie
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top