Motherboard

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Antsmarching

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Messages
26
I have a MSI K7N2 Delta-L motherboard... (I'm 99.9% sure ;) I couldn't remember exactly, so checked their site.) When I rebooted my pc tonight, I noticed it said "Live Update 2" when it was booting. Where did that come from?? I've had this motherboard for 10 months or so and I swear it has NEVER said that before! I know there are features (like the Live Update, Bluetooth, etc) but I don't use them.

I know (assume) my pc is "clean" because yesterday I ran the 4 online virus scanners listed in Security Help Tools, Spybot, and Ad Aware... I also ran disk cleanup and Defrag. Maybe I'm just paranoid because we've been having A LOT of problems on my Dad's PC (that I will soon be here with! :eek: :confused: :mad: ).....

BUT, as I was resetting my PC a couple times (trying to get what info I could)--it started beeping at me! It's done this before, but not all the time (I thought my friend fixed it.) I've referred to the manual before to see what the beeping pattern meant, but I can't find anything on it! It's a continual beep that seems to last about 4 sec, then stops for about 4 sec, then beeps again and so on...

Please let me know what other info you need to try and help me! Here's a HJ log as well, just in case.

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
Scan saved at 4:18:46 AM, on 4/20/2004
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageMonitor.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2\schedhlp.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2\schedul2.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\ACS\acsd.exe
C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\notepad.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\mmc.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\Program Files\WinRAR\WinRAR.exe
C:\DOCUME~1\MICHEL~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\Rar$EX00.063\HijackThis.exe

O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {ACB1E670-3217-45C4-A021-6B829A8A27CB} - (no file)
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [REGSHAVE] C:\Program Files\REGSHAVE\REGSHAVE.EXE /AUTORUN
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Acronis*True*Image Monitor] C:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageMonitor.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Acronis Scheduler2 Service] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2\schedhlp.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

Thank you!
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Live Update sounds like it could be related to Norton?

As for the beeping, check the fans inside the computer, especially the one ontop the cpu to be sure they are spinning and spinning freely.

Is the correct amound of ram showing up in the system properties?

http://www.computerhope.com/beep.htm
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
Live update definitely sounds like Norton. Dont know about the 2 part of it though. Are you running Norton antivirus or actually any other Symantec shaftware such as norton internet security, or something like that? I call it Symantec Shaftware because you buy the software for like $59 then to use the exact same program effectively (ie. with the proper updated virus definitions) a second year they want another $39 every year after that! :mad: (n) :mad: (n) :mad:
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,105
I do not see Norton listed under running processes. I am guessing it is related to AOL which is running. Acronis [which is running] does not have a live update.

I do not see any anti-virus software running; I would download AVG. It is free and does a fine job. In todays world you need some type of AV. If you do have AV [and I just cannot find it running] disregard.
 

Antsmarching

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Messages
26
Sorry for such a late response! I appreciate the help!

Live Update 2 is a MSI feature... (I don't care much for Symantec. I've ran into too many problems w/ their applications.)

I checked my fans and they seem to be fine. (I have an AERO 7+) The correct amount of RAM is showing too.

I did notice an error with the nVidia WDM Video Capture (on NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model 64)... This device cannot start. (Code 10) -- Although, I don't believe this would be the cause of the beeping...

Being that I have an AERO 7+, (and the problem with mounting) maybe it's not "precisely" mounted correct and so once in awhile it'll cause the error?? I don't know, just a thought. I remeber my friend having trouble mounting it, but it seems to be fine.

Also, thanks for the link to the beep codes!
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
854
Gosh guys I could be wrong but a friend of mine had this kind of beeping though she described it on her pc more as being like a fire truck wailing, and it turned out to be her cpu overheating. In her case her cpu fan had croaked but since you had trouble mounting your cpu fan perhaps it is NOT mounted correctly? Or perhaps the thermal paste is not on correctly? Just a thought.
 

Antsmarching

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Messages
26
I guess the beeping could resemble a fire truck wailing. In any case, it won't hurt to check it out... I have a gut feeling that's the cause. As soon as I get the chance, and my friend has the chance, I will have him check it.

Thanks again for all the feedback! :)
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Just my humble two Mexican centavos, but unless you want to buy a new cpu or motherboard, I'd turn it off instead of allowing the beeping to continue ;)
 

DFC

Joined
Apr 24, 2004
Messages
411
Do you have PC Alert running? It's an MSI program that alerts you on high temps or off voltage. :cool:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top