1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Motorola SB5100 and Wireless Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Miggy24, Nov 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Miggy24

    Miggy24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hello everyone,

    I'm hoping that someone out there will be able to help me. I have broadband and my modem is a Motorola SB5100 and is contacted to my PC via USB connection. I bought a Linksys Wireless-G Mobile Broadband Router and I can't see how to get this to work. How do I get a router to work with a modem that is connected via USB? I only have 1 Ethernet cable which I guess is for connecting the router to the back of the Motorola SB5100. I don't have any other cables that connect to a telephone wall jack or anything like that so I feel I'm getting in a tis trying to work out how to get wireless.

    Hope my note makes sense to someone....:) Thanks for reading and hope you can help. :)

    I can try and answer any questions but I just hope someone can get me out my pickle...lol.

    Thanks
    Paula
     
  2. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,723
    Hi Paula,
    Does the Linksys router have a USB port? (That would be labeled WAN or Internet.)

    Jason
     
  3. Miggy24

    Miggy24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hello Jason,

    It's a Linksys WRT54GC and has 4 yellow ethernet ports and a port for DSL/Cable modem and a port where the power adapter goes. That's all it has. Think that's what's confusing me that fact I don't have anything to plug into the DSL/Cable modem port as my modem is connected to my pc via USB.

    Oh technology I love to hate it.....

    Thank you.
    Paula
     
  4. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,723
    The modem does have Ethernet capability, right?
     
  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
  6. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,723
    Hmm, actually, I have a SB5120, and considering the SB5120 and SB5100 are most likely very similar, I know mine is not a modem/router combo, so hers probably isn't. (Which would obvisouly make the setup easier.)
     
  7. Miggy24

    Miggy24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Jason,

    Yes the modem has Ethernet capability. On the back of the Motorola SB5100 the only free port is for an Ethernet.

    Paula
     
  8. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Wouldn't hurt to take a look at the link
     
  9. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,723
    Do you want specifically the USB going to the computer (from the modem?) To have that, and also have the Ethernet going to the router from the modem, you would need to public IPs. (That would mean calling your ISP for another IP address, which most likely isn't free.)
    But the easiest setup (involving the modem, router, and 1 PC) would require 2 Ethernet lines.
     
  10. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    The Motorola SB5120 has an Ethernet port. Here's a configuration that will get you running with a wired connection, you can work from there on the wireless.


    Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on. The following procedure should get you a connection with any broadband modem that is configured to use DHCP for the router connection, such as cable modems, and many DSL modems. If you require PPPoE configuration for the DSL modem, that will have to be configured to match the ISP requirements.

    • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
    • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
    • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
    • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
    • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
    • Boot the computer.

    When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  12. Miggy24

    Miggy24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Yes I thought the easiest setup would be 2 ethernet lines. I guess it would be Ethernet between modem and router and ethernet between router and pc? My next problem is I have a Dell Dimension 4400 and on the back of the pc I can't see where the Ethernet would go. Do I need some kind of adapter or something as the only port I have at the back wouldn't fit an ethernet clip thingy??? Ha ha this is so funny I'm hopeless at pc stuff.

    Thanks Jason for you're help.
    Paula
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/770582