1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Mounting an external hard drive in a desktop case help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SonoInc, Sep 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SonoInc

SonoInc Thread Starter

So I have 2 of these: http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Momen...nternal/dp/tech-data/B00194EQZG/ref=de_a_smtd

and one of this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822204018

I have 3 spots left in my case to mount HDDs. How can I do this? I have searched through Google with no luck and I'm basically a hardware noob. Or, probably the best option, would be to just mount the terabyte drive and access the other harddrives via USB in a very inexpensive way. (Bottom line is to access the seagate drives as inexpensively as possible, then to mount the fantom drive if possible)

Thanks for your time,
    Mike

2. Hughv

Hughv

Installing a drive is very simple. You apparently have identified the bays. so you need the mounting screws and the appropriate power and data cables and to know where they connect on the motherboard.
    What case and what motherboard are you using, or what make and model is the computer? What OS?
    It's not particularly clear why you want to do this.
    External cases are readily available at Tiger Direct and similar vendors:
    This one has proved to be reliable for me (Cheap cases fail quickly)
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2145406&sku=V13-3254

3. SonoInc

SonoInc Thread Starter

I would like to do this b/c I no longer need the external drive to be an external now that I have a desktop. Also those 2 seagates are from my laptop that crashed and I need to be able to access the data on them.

Here are system specs:
    Mobo: MSI P55M-SD40 (MS-7588)