Mouse droppings..no...not that..mouse drops items..

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

eraser

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
20
I'm not sure I can explain this problem but I'll try: When I click on something to drag it, the mouse drops it. Does that make sense? For instance, if I'm playing cards and I click on a card to drag it, it drops before I get it to the place I want it. Sometimes when I click on something, the mouse picks it up and drops it a couple times before it "latches" on, then, I can drag it.

I hope I haven't made this too complicated!

I went to the manufacturers' web-site and upgraded the software but it hasn't helped.

I am running XP and have a Logitech Marble Ball.

It's worked fine until lately...maybe I just need a new one?
 

Miz

Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
2,146
If you can't borrow a mouse you know works correctly, go ahead and buy another. They're pretty cheap. Even if it turns out not to be a malfunctioning mouse (which it sure sounds like it is), you'll have a spare mouse that you'll be real glad to have some night...at 2 a.m...playing your favorite game...the mouse quits working. Ahhh...the memories. ;)
 

eraser

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
20
Actually, this IS the spare mouse...it's doing exactly like the other one. Surely they wouldn't be malfunctioning in exactly the same way..?? That's why I thought it might be something else, something to do with my computer. But then, I've had to wipe and reload XP and it's still happening. Boy, THAT was a trip!!!! It took me fourteen hours just to load the operating system! When I finally got it loaded I went into the BIOS and found that the first guy I took the computer to had somehow messed that up...so I reset all the defaults and it's worked like a charm ever since...ummm, I'm sorry...I was talking about my mouse wasn't I?? Anyway, thanks for the input...I appreciate it...I guess I'll just break down and buy a new one...it's just hard to find one exactly like this one and I do love it so...LOL! I just don't like the original mouses anymore, since I got used to this one.....oops, sorry...rambling again! Thanks so much for replying!
 

Miz

Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
2,146
Since two different mice (mouses?) do the same thing, it's does sound like a problem with something other than the mouse itself. Is it a wireless mouse by any chance? Or maybe USB? If USB, try plugging it into a different USB port. If wireless, it's possible something's interfering with the signal...older cordless phones can do that.

Of course, if it's neither wireless nor USB, that only leaves two things...software or operator. ;)
 

eraser

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
20
I know it's not wireless...but I'm not so sure about the USB thingy...is that where the end you plug into the computer is flat instead of round? If so, then I have the round one...It really seems like the signal is being interrupted for a split second, if that is possible with the standard plug-in type thingys...Thanks for your patience...I guess I'll get a new one 'cause I know it's not the operator...no way, as edumacated as I am!!!
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2002
Messages
3,337
You might check in Device Manager to see if your PS/2 port is sharing an ICQ with something else...
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2002
Messages
865
You say they're track balls. Have you cleaned them (the balls, that is)? My optical mouse does the same thing if I don't wipe off the bottom occasionally.
 

eraser

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
20
Thanks for replying..

I don't have ICQ...I use Yahoo! Messenger and MSN...is that what you mean, brushmaster1? Or have I gone off the deep-end again? LOL!

John028356, I clean them (or IT...there's only one ball) constantly, and the three little prongs (?) that the ball rolls on. I've notice that the little screen under the ball is sorta dirty but I'm really afraid to touch that...it seems so fragile.
 

eraser

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
20
Well, I checked and it said "no conflicts"...thanks for replying, you guys are great. I guess I'll just have to break down and spend $40 for a new mouse....oh man! Do you know how many groceries $40 will buy???

Thanks again!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top