1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

mouse freezing after virus problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by allan76, Jan 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. allan76

    allan76 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Hi huys thanks for reading, hope someone here can help.
    I recently had a problem with a virus, one of the fake police "you have downloaded illegal material pay a £100 fine and you will not be arrested" ones, not sure which version of it in particular. It took over my desktop completely but was sorted out by a system restore via safe mode. Afterwards i ran several av checks (avg, avira, superantispyware and lavasoft ad-aware) with nothing showing up. I'm sure it has been removed but since then my mouse has been freezing reguarly. I run xp, and device manager says that the drivers are installed and there are no problems. I have tried two mice, a wireless hid and an old one with a lead, both usb. The wireless one works for 10 seconds then freezes completely, the older one works for a few minutes then i get a msg saying "hardware not recognised" and have to unplug it and put it back in.
    The problem started after i used tdss rootkit detector (i wanted to make sure the virus wasn't still lurking around) and i removed a few elements. My sound card was deactivated then, but is fine after re-installing driver, but reinstalling them for my mouse(s) hasn't made a difference. I dloaded intellipoint from microsoft and was no help, it also says they are working fine. I'm sure tdss is responsible for the problem but can't work out how to undo it (it has no undo function).
    I've tried rolling back to other restore points but no luck. For the record it is only my mouse that is freezing, no problems with the system in general, no slowdown elsewhere, just my pc seems to forget that my mouse in attached!
    Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance.
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    attach all the tdsskiller logs to a reply here so we can see what EXACTLY it "fixed"

    By default, the utility outputs the log into system disk (it is usually the disk with installed operating system, C:\) root folder.
    Logs have names like: UtilityName.Version_Date_Time_log.txt.
    E.g. C:\TDSSKiller.2.4.7_23.07.2010_15.31.43_log.txt
     
  3. allan76

    allan76 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    wow, quick reply!
    Sorry to say i was so annoyed with tdss i deleted it and all files in the hope that if no longer quarantined the affected files might work again. Amateur mistake i know and of less use than a chocolate teapot to you, but i'm afraid i don't have the info now :(
    Am happy to run any other system analysis etc you might find usefull though?
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    are you sure you deleted the logs
    without knowing what it did fix or deleted , there is no way of any other tool telling us what is wrong
     
  5. allan76

    allan76 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Yes i'm afraid so, tried to undelete them but i run a scheduled file overwriter to wipe free space and old files (i work from my home pc and it has some work sensitive files covered by data protection act) and system wiper so no way to recover them now as it runs once a week and, just my luck, ran this morning. Do you think i will have to reinstall windows? Not what i need, i have gigs and gigs of files i would have to back up first so would rather avoid it if possible.
     
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    about all you can try is go to start/run & type
    sfc /scannow < press enter>

    you might get asked for the windows DVD

    see if that finds any corrupt files to replace

    otherwise, it is most likely going to need a windows reinstall or at the very least a repair install over the top, with no guarantee of any fix

    unfortunately you have made it virtually impossible for anyone to help you, by deleting the logs & TDSS quarantine folders, which "might" have allowed us to see what is wrong

    there is just the off chance that this will show us something and it might well be that Tdsskiller didn't fully fix the virus/rootkit & it is the virus itself causing the problems, but I am not holding out any hope of that

    follow advice here and post the logs those programs make
     
  7. allan76

    allan76 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    dvk01, thanks for the advice and help, but it seems i made an error worthy of eternal ridicule (please feel free!). Spoke to a friend about my problem who reminded me that i replaced my old mouse because it was going wrong ages ago (freezing, not recognised etc due to a loose wire i assume) which was why i got the cordless one. I then decided to try, shock and horror, replacing the batteries...
    And it now works fine. They just happened to run out immediately after my tdss scan i suppose. Lesson learned? Always remember the shockingly obvious! :eek:
    Sorry for wasting your time mate! 5 days i put up with a dodgy mouse, all for the sake of 2xAAA batteries...
    Not my greatest moment :(
    Thanks again for your help though :)
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    That is one of those things that happen. glad it was such a simple fix. It is all too easy to jump to conclusions and fear the worst
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085477

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice