1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Mouse load animation, but nothing is loading?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by xithyl, Dec 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xithyl

    xithyl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Hi everyone. I'm new to the forums, and I need some help.

    Well, yesterday, I was tinkering around with Rainmeter, and decided to download "DreamScape Seven" or whatever for a video type wallpaper. Then everything just starts acting weird. My mouse loading animation keeps popping up every 30 seconds, but it's loading nothing. Like nothing pops up, there's no notification. I'm afraid I have a virus of some sorts, but I've scanned the crap out of my computer, with no real results. I've ran the computer in diagnostics, and it doesn't do that there. Any ideas to help a noob out?
     
  2. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,977
    First Name:
    Ron
    To help us help you,please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread. You can then update your Computer Specs here with this info.
    Also, if its a brand name system like an Acer,Dell or HP, please post the exact model of the system.
     
  3. xithyl

    xithyl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Here you go, sir.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8146 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 953766 MB, Free - 161478 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., P8Z77-V DELUXE
    Antivirus: AVG Internet Security 2013, Disabled

    I'm not sure why it says I have AVG. I uninstalled it, because I was running on a trial. But I am not running Microsoft Security Essentials
     
  4. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,977
    First Name:
    Ron
    Try downloading the AVG remover program and run it.

    http://www.avg.com/us-en/utilities

    After removal, run the Tech Support Info Utility again. If all is gone you should install an Anti-Virus program. A lot of us here use Avast Free, and Microsoft Security Essentials.
     
  5. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,977
    First Name:
    Ron
    Many members here recommend Microsoft Security Essentials or Avast. http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5201 or http://www.avast.com/en-us/index both are free. ONLY USE ONE Anti-Virus program, having more than one will cause problems!
    In conjunction with either of them use both of the following and run them at least once a week.
    Malwarebytes
    http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam-download.php
    Superantispyware
    http://www.superantispyware.com/down...NTISPYWAREFREE

    Make sure to update their definition files during the install process.
    Make sure to uncheck and decline to install any extras, such as toolbars and homepages, they may offer.
    Make sure to uncheck or decline to use the "Pro" or "Trial" version, if it's offered.
    After they're installed and updated, restart the computer.
    Run a quick scan with each one.
    After each quick scan is finished, select and remove EVERYTHING that was found.
     
  6. xithyl

    xithyl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Alright, I did both quick scans, and they both have found nothing. It doesn't seem to effect my computers performance, but that's still something I'm not entirely sure about. Even standing idle, the mouse will just show the blue circle, implying that something is being loaded.
     
  7. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,977
    First Name:
    Ron
    Is AVG still showing up?
     
  8. xithyl

    xithyl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8146 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 953766 MB, Free - 832372 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., P8Z77-V DELUXE
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled
     
  9. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,977
    First Name:
    Ron
    Try uninstalling DreamScape Seven.
     
  10. xithyl

    xithyl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I did that too, no go. :\
     
  11. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,977
    First Name:
    Ron
  12. xithyl

    xithyl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    No, not recently. Should I go ahead and try?
     
  13. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,977
    First Name:
    Ron
    Worth a shot:)
     
  14. xithyl

    xithyl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I did it, and nothing was fixed. ><
     
  15. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,977
    First Name:
    Ron
    OK, have you tried a System Restore to a time prior to this taking place? I would do so.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1079139

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice