1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

'Move To' when I right click and select Open or Explore, is driving me mad!!!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by atish_aa, May 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. atish_aa

    atish_aa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    I get the option 'Move To' when I right click and select Open or Explore, on any folder in the Start->All programs and the Move To window pops up instead of opening the specified folder. :mad: :mad:

    Please solve this problem for me kindly, someone !!! (y)
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    This is an unfortunate side effect of adding "Move To" and "Copy To" to the context menu. Do you remeber what tweaker or registry hack you used to add these? If they are removed, that annoying popup of the "Move To" dialog will go with it.

    If you don't remeber how you added it, start the Registry Editor.

    Go to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT \ AllFilesystemObjects \ shellex \ ContextMenuHandlers

    Delete the CopyTo and MoveTo subkeys.

    I'd suggest a much more configurable and stable context menu control for moving or copying things:

    FileTargets

    (Don't forget the installation password at the bottom: ILikeMoonSoftware.)
     
  3. atish_aa

    atish_aa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Thanks for help Sir! Now i'll work out your latter suggestion!
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Hope you get it. We don't need any more insane posters than we have already :D.
     
  5. atish_aa

    atish_aa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    What do you mean???
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    I mean we don't want you to be driven mad by this, so it needs to get solved. How is it going, anyway?
     
  7. atish_aa

    atish_aa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Thanks for your generosity Sir! I've downloaded File Target and am now about to install it and i'll be back with the result!
    Please also let me know one more thing that will FileTargets solve the purpose or do I have to"Go to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT \ AllFilesystemObjects \ shellex \ ContextMenuHandlers" and do exactly as you have suggested me to!

    THANKS AGAIN FOR YOUR KINDNESS AND HELP!
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    FileTargets is just a substitute for the present CopyTo and MoveTo context menu entries. You still need to remove those old entries in the registry.

    You can make a reg file to do it thus:

    Copy the text between the lines and paste into an empty Notepad window.
    -----------------------------------------------
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AllFilesystemObjects\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers]

    [-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AllFilesystemObjects\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\Copy To]
    @="{C2FBB630-2971-11D1-A18C-00C04FD75D13}"

    [-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AllFilesystemObjects\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\Move To]
    @="{C2FBB631-2971-11D1-A18C-00C04FD75D13}"

    --------------------------------------------------
    Go to Notepad's File menu and Save As...

    In the space for the filename, type: undo.reg

    Save it to your desktop. Now you have a reg file with the blue reg icon. Double-click it to merge it with your registry and the 2 nefarious entries are gone from your context menu.
     
  9. atish_aa

    atish_aa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    I've done as you said but now the Open and Explore options do not work. When I click on them nothing happens. :(
    Please Help!
     
  10. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Please explain exactly what you did, step by step, and when you believe you lost the Open and Explore Options.

    The above reg file doesn't affect anything in the registry related to those options.

    Did you make the reg file or did you manually delete some entries?

    Where did you try Open and Explore: on drives, in the Start Menu, or on Folders? Try them on all 3, please.
     
  11. atish_aa

    atish_aa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    I manually deleted as per your instructions in the earlier post.
    The Open and Explore options work everywhere else accept in the Start Menu-> All Programs, when I right click on any main menu item and select Open or Explore, nothing happens.
     
  12. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It seems strange that it only happens in the Start menu.

    Are you sure that this problem didn't exist before the removal of the Copy/Move entries? Doesn't really matter now, I guess.

    In any case, if you make another reg file of the following (everything between the lines, but not including the lines---after you paste it into the Notepad window, add a couple blank lines at the bottom by pressing Enter a couple times), you will restore the default Open/Explore registry entries for folders (which is what those things are in the Start Menu if they are not shortcuts or full programs).

    ------------------------------------------------------
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell]

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\explore]
    "BrowserFlags"=dword:00000022
    "ExplorerFlags"=dword:00000021

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\explore\command]
    @=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
    00,5c,00,45,00,78,00,70,00,6c,00,6f,00,72,00,65,00,72,00,2e,00,65,00,78,00,\
    65,00,20,00,2f,00,65,00,2c,00,2f,00,69,00,64,00,6c,00,69,00,73,00,74,00,2c,\
    00,25,00,49,00,2c,00,25,00,4c,00,00,00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\explore\ddeexec]
    @="[ExploreFolder(\"%l\", %I, %S)]"
    "NoActivateHandler"=""

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\explore\ddeexec\application]
    @="Folders"

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\explore\ddeexec\ifexec]
    @="[]"

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\explore\ddeexec\topic]
    @="AppProperties"

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\open]
    "BrowserFlags"=dword:00000010
    "ExplorerFlags"=dword:00000012

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\open\command]
    @=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
    00,5c,00,45,00,78,00,70,00,6c,00,6f,00,72,00,65,00,72,00,2e,00,65,00,78,00,\
    65,00,20,00,2f,00,69,00,64,00,6c,00,69,00,73,00,74,00,2c,00,25,00,49,00,2c,\
    00,25,00,4c,00,00,00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\open\ddeexec]
    @="[ViewFolder(\"%l\", %I, %S)]"
    "NoActivateHandler"=""

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\open\ddeexec\application]
    @="Folders"

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\open\ddeexec\ifexec]
    @="[]"

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\open\ddeexec\topic]
    @="AppProperties"


    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. atish_aa

    atish_aa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Thanks! Now I'll try this out and be back with the result! :)
     
  14. atish_aa

    atish_aa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    I tried this out but in vain.
    What I did was that I pasted the above lines in notepad, saved it as .reg file. Right clicked on it, and selected Merge and the information was successfully added to the registry.
    The Open/Explore options work only for the exe's within the file folders on the Start-> All Programs but it does not work for the File Folder itself!!!
     
  15. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Very strange, indeed. I hope you meant that the Open option worked on the exe's. There shouldn't be any exploring of individual files.

    I'll keep looking to see if there are reg entries specific to the Start menu.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/226427

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice