Moved 'Users'...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jokonoko

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
6
Hello everyone,

Today I was rearranging some stuff on my PC, when suddenly... I messed up my OS.

What I did:
Moved the Users folder from OS (C: ) to DATA (D: )
There were some problems so I chose 'Skip all' a few times.

What happened:
Not everything was moved.
Almost all of my icons disappeared.
Most of my shortcuts didn't work anymore.
Some of my software didn't work anymore.
My settings in some of my software were gone.
And so on

What I did:
Tried to move everything back to the original place.

What happened:
Most of it went back... Most of it.
Now it's just all over the place and a lot doesn't work anymore.

I hope someone can help me!

Thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
2,637
hiya,1st idea don,t "move stuff",creates problems,now can you get to system restore and restore back to a date before you "moved some stuff".
 

jokonoko

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
6
Sadly, no... Well, this makes me upset
Would upgrading to Windows 8 help?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
2,637
is the users folder still in "D"Data,try changing the "d" back to"C" on the location path
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,776
jokonoko, using asterisks for obvious letters does not make you less of a potty mouth. Please remember that this is a family friendly site and clean up your language.
 

jokonoko

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
6
Thanks Huggie, I will try it out right now!

I'll also try to talk more kid-friendly. Silly me :(

Sorry...
 

jokonoko

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
6
Tried both methods. Unfortunately, they both didn't work. First one did paint my wallpaper black though, but I think that method is for parts inside of the Users-folder. I did notice that my original Computer > OS (C: ) > Users > Username has a lock. Is that normal?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,776
I'll also try to talk more kid-friendly.
Thank you. :)

I did notice that my original Computer > OS (C: ) > Users > Username has a lock. Is that normal?
Not normal; at least, mine does not have a lock. I don't know what that lock means or if it is important.
 

jokonoko

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
6
I did a system restore and almost everything is back to normal now. Thanks a lot for your time, guys!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top