1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Moving a Database

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by ]v[est, Jan 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ]v[est

    ]v[est Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Hello everyone,

    I recently changed webhosts and I have a site: http://harmless.boggletech.com that i used a webportal system called postnuke to create maybe some of you have heard of it. Anyways its not really relevant here, my question is this site runs on a fairly large database and at my new host i cannot link to the database and i need to move it to my new host. I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to do this. I have phpmyadmin avaliable but i find myself stumped when i think how i will get my database for the site to the new host. If anyone could point me in the right direction or give me some advice that would really be appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. patch-man

    patch-man

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    What I've done in the past is to export from the old system (data and structure). Then import into the new system. Seems to work fine.
    Another thing that works is to make a backup of the old mysql database (/var/lib/mysql/<database name>) and restore it to the new location.

    I would try these in order, the first is much smoother.
     
  3. Snake~eyes

    Snake~eyes

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    640
    Theres a feature called dump in phpMyAdmin where you dump the thing in to a text file

    it will call it say filename.sql

    then you go into the other site with phpmyadmin and you just run that query.. simple as that ;)
     
  4. ]v[est

    ]v[est Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Wow i guess i was just trying to make that harder than it was. Thanks for taking the time to post and not flaming my noobism lol. Keep up the good work guys, o ya i got it all setup and working good.

    Thanks again.
     
  5. Snake~eyes

    Snake~eyes

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    640
    lol

    we're not here to flame peopel that have questions. We're here to answer peoples questions, and that one saying.. no question is a dumb question or somthin like that.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114216

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice