moving game to another PC

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

associates

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
17
Hi,

I have a PC running on XP Pro and it has WOW games in it. Since, the graphic card is playing up every now and then, I have been thinking of getting a new PC with a much better video card. However, I was tempted to install Windows 7 this time on the new PC. I could re-install the WOW onto the new PC but the problem that I might have is whether or not I will have to download something like 60G for the game from the Internet.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Yes, you will have to install the game fresh on the system.

There's no way to "move" the game from one computer to the other like you can with simple .txt documents, etc.

(Or at least no way I know of). :D
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
What is in that 60GB's? Some of it may be transferrable if you can move it to the correct folders. It would be worth a try, anyway. You could at least try moving the folder contents after the basic installation on the new machine.
 

associates

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
17
Many thanks to you both for your replies.

At least I am sort of prepared what I need to do.

Yes, I'll give it a go anyway. try and see if I can do copy and paste the whole folder from the pc to the new pc after a fresh installation of the game on the new pc.

Thanks again
 

Tanis

Shane
Joined
May 29, 2006
Messages
3,969
I would give that a go, I have successfully done it myself in the past (doesn't always work though). Hopefully, with WoW being and online game, if there are any problems the 'auto patcher' should pick them up and download the correct files. If you have copied the original old folder to the new PC (as stated, AFTER doing an initial install of the basic game), any discrepancies should be minimal.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
13
Let me ask this question. Is it going to be faster to move the 60gb of stuff via external drive or whatever medium, or will it just be faster to re-download the stuff?
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
116
Yes you can transfer wow between computers. I always keep a backup of my game on an external drive do i dont have to redownload all the patches and addons. I would definitely go with the external drive because youll be watch a while if you try to pass it over the network.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
109
Yes, confirming, you can transfer your WoW folder to another computer, create a desktop icon for the launcher and it will run fine.

I mailed 4 DVDs with my WoW folder ripped to my cousin who has slow internet connection, he extracted them all and we're playing perfectly. :)

On a side note, though, my WoW folder has only 12 gigs. Try shrinking your screenshots folder with winzip/winrar. Or just do that to the whole game folder, it will certainly save you time while copying.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top