1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Moving wirless card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jim555666, Jan 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jim555666

    jim555666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Hi
    Im trying to move my wirless card from one pci slot to another in order to create better airfloww to my graphics card fan, but whenever ive tried moving it it's never worked properly, always comes up with limited or no connectivity messsage. tried uninstalling and reinstalling software with card in new position. the pci slot does work with other hardware.
    any suggestion
    safe/
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    What operating system are you running?
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
  4. jim555666

    jim555666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Im on xp, and thge problem is yet to be solved!
     
  5. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    did you try removing the drivers for this wireless card before putting it in the new position? then reinstalling the drivers after moving it and rebooting?
     
  6. jim555666

    jim555666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Yup i said that!
     
  7. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    i doubt if the location of the card affects airflow around the video card.

    move the video card to another pci slot.

    make sure the wireless card is totally seated in the different slot. sometimes the card can sit up to high, not filling the slot.
     
  8. jim555666

    jim555666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    video card cant be moved due to some sort of specialised pci card slot for it. Radeon 9800 SE (if that helps). and it is directly blocking the fan to it's heat sink.
     
  9. winbob

    winbob

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,370
    Just taking a swing at the pinata...try:

    1. removing the card

    2. Rebooting

    3. Checking Device Mgr, and REMOVING any reference to it if still there.

    4. Uninstalling the software

    5. Shuting down

    6. re-inserting the card in its new location

    7. Rebooting

    8. Reinstalling software (and drivers if necessary)

    If that doesn't work call the manufacturers tech support!!
     
  10. jim555666

    jim555666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Ill give it another bash! here goes
     
  11. jim555666

    jim555666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    No such luck tried what you said anbd didnt work still get limited or no connectivity message, and unfortunatly the company i purchased it from are no longer in business theyve gone into liquidation for obvious reasons! (damn you tiny computers)
     
  12. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    you just identified your problem.

    a cheap, poorly made card, from company going out of business.

    loball pricing returns loball performance/support.

    the video card is in an agp slot.:cool:
     
  13. jim555666

    jim555666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    LOL yup, but the card aint exactly madeby them it's MSI, contacxted them and they were like...."dunno" ask tiny and tiny used to be like, "errr...as msi"!
     
  14. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I for one, am at a loss to understand why a nic card would work in one slot, but not another. The reason I asked about operating system, is that I suspected an IRQ conflict, but with XP that shouldn't be an issue.


    UNLESS, by some wierd happening, the bios is locking the IRQ of the card to a specific slot? :confused: Is that even possible?
     
  15. jim555666

    jim555666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    IF that were them case how or is it possible to change this?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/437935

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice