1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Mozilla Firefox error message: Couldn't load XPCOM

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Angelwings68, Jun 28, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Angelwings68

    Angelwings68 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    I've tried re-installing Firefox after a botched update, I keep getting the error message after I've cleaned everywhere Firefox is in files and registry. I also used IObit un-installer to get rid of the rest. Downloaded a newer version of Mozilla Firefox and the same problem comes up.
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,578
    Angelwings68 likes this.
  3. Angelwings68

    Angelwings68 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    It was a botched update to Mozilla Firefox. I removed all traces of Mozilla Firefox from laptop, then downloaded and re-installed it again, I still get a message:"couldn't load XPCOM." I've installed 3 uninstallers now and cleaned all traces of Firefox from laptop again. Downloaded and installed another Mozilla Firefox, everything was going well, until I went to open it, same message shows up again. Couldn't load XPCOM. This is so frustrating and I'm almost to the point of factory resetting my laptop.
    Thanks anyway for your help Lunarlander.
     
  4. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,966
    What security software are you running? It's possible that is what is interfering with the uninstall/reinstall.

    Try downloading the installer but before running it do the normal uninstall and then make sure you do all of the following:

    Delete the folder at this location:

    64-bit Firefox) "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox"
    or
    32-bit Firefox) "C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox"

    Restart the computer

    Disable your anti-virus software temporarily

    Run the installer for a clean reinstallation of Firefox

    Reenable your anti-virus software.

    See if that makes a difference.
     
  5. Angelwings68

    Angelwings68 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Cookiegal; I'm using McAfee. I did all the steps you mentioned above and still got the same message. I have been going through this problem for over a week now, I couldn't find any numbers to contact Mozilla Firefox. I did find some bogus numbers that wanted me to go to a site and give them remote access to my laptop. I've tried the steps on the Firefox forums too. Below is a screenshot of the error message I get every time I try re-install. Couldn't load XPCOM.JPG
     
  6. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,578
    Uninstall McAfee and see if you can reinstall and run Firefox
     
  7. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,966
    And when running the installer be sure to run it as Administrator by right-clicking it and selecting that option.
     
  8. Angelwings68

    Angelwings68 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Hi, Thanks! It worked by un-installing McAfee and was able to install Firefox. Thank you all so much for the help. :)
     
  9. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,966
    Glad it worked. You're welcome. :)
     
  10. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,347
    In my opinion McAfee is the pits! I tried them on my first computer in 1998 and the hosed the whole windows installation. Had to bring it back to the shop to reinstall windows.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1229285

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice