1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Mozilla Thunderbird backups taking up TONS of space

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by bj nick, Nov 11, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. bj nick

bj nick Thread Starter

I've been using Thunderbird for close on 25 years now....my email over the years is very important to me to preserve. It's basically an unsupported, ancient program, MozBackup refuses to create any further backups, and I'm understandably nervous about not losing the backups I have. So.....I have a TON of PCV files on my C: drive.....100s of Gigs worth......I'm sure there's lots of repetition, but I'm too nervous to delete anything. How can I reliably determine which backups I could safely delete?

2. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    If you are backing up Thunderbird to your C drive than that's not really a good backup. You need to be backing up to multiple external drives or multiple online cloud storage solutions that are unaffected by things that could affect your computer; local C drive backups are useless against ransomware, hard drive failure, theft, etc. You can then likely keep all 100GB's of backups on there for as long as you like. Realistically do you need a backup from 25 years ago or are a couple from the from the previous week or a year good enough?

While MozBackup is no longer updated it does still work, Thunderbird is still actively supported, and you can just manually back it up if MozBackup is no longer working for you: https://www.lifewire.com/back-up-thunderbird-settings-1173141

3. bj nick

bj nick Thread Starter