mp3s on motorola V180?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

willtodie

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2004
Messages
64
i recently purchased a motorola V180 cellphone and i've been told that you can actually add mp3s as your ringtones. i've noticed that my phone has some sort of usb port. i've searched the net for an answer and i havent had any luck so far.

i know this might not be the right board to post anything like this, but i'm pretty sure that someone will have an answer or some ideas for this problem or rather this question. :confused:

if it's of any help my phone is a motorolav180, and im with Tmobile. and i dont think i have that 'internet' thing on my phone.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
The connector on your phone is a USB mini-connector. I just got the same phone with Cingular, and I'm waiting on the Motorola Mobile Phone Tools v3.0 program I ordered last week. It appears it will allow you to load ring tones, sync the phone book, etc.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
John,

I just signed up to switch from Sprint to Cingular today. I'm getting 2 of the V220's for free on the Family Plan! Won't be switching until the end of the month though. We oughta get everyone on Cingular and we could conference all the threads for free! :D
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Funny, I switched from Sprint too. I would have stayed with them, but I called to change my plan, and they were pretty unplesant, so I figured they didn't need my money. They sure changed their tune when I called to cancel the account, but it's too late then. :)
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
John,

Same deal on my end.

But to add insult to injury....I got terrible service when I was at home! That was where I used it for long distance. Then around town (Dallas) it would lose signal in the weirdest places.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I never had any real complaints with the coverage with Sprint. I travel some, and in places like Grand Rapids, LA, and Clearwater FL, it always worked for me.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
9
Long time Cingular user here. I have the V400 but I've used the V180 as well. The mini-USB port can be used with any standard USB cable that has the mini-USB port. Just get the Motorola Mobile Phone Tools 3.0 and you will be able to transfer your MP3 files from your computer to the V180. You can then select them as your ringtone.

Beware that there are certain restrictions for the MP3 file. I am not sure what the restrictions are, but if you realize the phone doesn't want to accept or play a certain MP3 file, maybe it's because the bitrate is too high or the file is too big or too long. However, I've gotten a 30-second long, 64kbps MP3 file to play just fine. You won't need anything longer than 30 seconds because after that your phone will stop ringing and the caller sent to voicemail.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I just got my Motorola Tools and installed them. It took a big of wrangling to get my phone numbers into the phone, but I did get it working. One problem was that it needed an immediate update to even see the phone, that took a while to figure out. :)

I saw the capbility to upload ring tones, and they even provide some samples, but I'm not entirely sure how to find them once they're in the phone.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
John,

"It took a big of wrangling to get my phone numbers into the phone, but I did get it working. One problem was that it needed an immediate update to even see the phone, that took a while to figure out."


Are you saying that you were able to transfer addresses from your old phone service's telephone? The Cingular guy told me that I could not do that from m Sprint phone to the new Cingular phone?????????????? Is he F. Of S. ?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I did it in two steps. I exported the phone list to a comma delimited file from my old phone tools, then imported it into the Motorola tools.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
1
Hello i have the motorola V 190 a step up from the 180 and i have the same thing with the Motorola mobile Phone Tools deluxe 4.0 and i am trying to send extracts to my phone but the program wont let me...:( When I send it says unsupported format - No conversion possible could someone please explain how i can get it to send?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top