Ms Access 97

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sammy662001

can some1 please show me how to save a calculated data from a report or a form into a table. i know a bit about access but i am no expert. thank you and a happy xmas.

It is not a good idea to have calculated fields in your tables. If you must store the values, do it in a query. The best way is to setup the query with the calculated field and then use the query in the form or report.

OBP

You can also do the calculation with simple VBA in a form that puts the value in to your field on the form.
You use the "After update" procedure of the field(s) that you want to calaculate on.
In the procedure you would put something like
[field name 1] = [field name 2] * [field name 3]
that would multiply fields 2 and 3 together and put the result in field 1.

Arguably the only good reason to store a calculated field in a table is if you need it for historical purposes. For example, if you have pricing information that is based on current market trends like the Fed, and you need to retain that pricing for archival purposes, then you might be able to use a calculated field in a table. The general rule of thumb is, if it will be calculated once and only once, ever, then it's okay. If, on the other hand, you're trying to use Access like Excel, then I'd adhere to the good advice already posted by coachdan32 and OBP.

If you do need more info about anything so far, post back and we'll get you started.

chris.

sammy662001

Thank you guys for your help, what I have is a report called “Invoices” with a “txtTotal” that calculates 3 text boxes, this report gets the data from a query that’s based on 2 tables called “Invoices” and “InvoiceDetails” but I need to save that total preferably in the table “Invoices”.