1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MS-DOS Prompt freezes my computer

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by alaric_1224, Jan 22, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. alaric_1224

    alaric_1224 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    I'm having a problem I've never run into before. Maybe somebody here can help me out. My computer works great, generally speaking. But every once in a while I need to get into the MS-DOS Prompt (I'm running Windows 98, first edition). Lately when I try loading DOS my entire system just freezes. It's the only thing that causes this. Anyhow, I've tried reinstalling windows thinking it may have been a corrupt file but that didn't help anything. If you have any ideas please let me know.
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Welcome to TSG.

    Which DOS prompt is causing this... is it happening when you try to open a "windows" DOS prompt (eg: run command or when you go to start>shutdown>restart in MS-DOS mode?

    For the latter, see....

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q232657

    The first should have been corrected by a Windows reinstall.
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi, welcome from me as well.

    If it's happening with the start button, programs, msdos prompt, you might try updating your video card drivers. What shows up in the control panel, system, device manager under display adapter?
     
  4. alaric_1224

    alaric_1224 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    The problem occurs when trying to acces the DOS Prompt (run, command). I have checked the video drivers and they seem to be properly installed (ATI Rage Pro). Any other suggestions? I'm contemplating doing a full format rather than just re-installing windows over itself.
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    If you go to the MS-DOS prompt shortcut in Programs, right click and select Properties>Screen -- try unchecking the "fast rom emulation" and "dynamic memory allocation" boxes for a test. Then try opening the MS-DOS prompt.

    On the "memory" screen everything should probably be set to "auto"

    Have you tried end-tasking everything but Explorer and Systray before running the DOS window to eliminate any possiblity of conflict? And have you run an updated antivirus and trojan scan?

    This link could apply, but I would have expected the files to be replaced by an overinstall....


    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q195176
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65884

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice