1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MS Internet Information Server user login problem

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by GS3, Mar 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GS3

GS3 Thread Starter

I am totally new to web servers and decided to give MS Internet Information Server 5.1 a try since it is included with Win XP PRO. So, I am trying to set up MS Internet Information Server for HTML but when I try to access the server from a client machine I get an error that either I do not have permission to access or I am asked for user name and password which I have no idea.

I go to the Default Website Properties, Directory Security, Anonymous Access, Edit and check "Anonymous Access" which I would think would be enough to serve pages without further questions but there is still a User Name, prefilled in as "IUSR_AAA" and a Password filled in with dots which I have no idea what password they represent. There is also a check box "Allow IIS to control passwordI have no idea how I should configure all this. I have tried several combinations and nothing works. Can someone explain this to me? How should this be configured to serve pages openly or to require a log in?

In the event log I see "The server was unable to logon the Windows NT account 'IUSR_AAA' due to the following error: Logon failure: unknown user name or bad password. The data is the error code. "

It seems the issue is rather complex

I am just trying to learn the basics but this may be more complex than I am willing to deal with. In any case, if I ever wanted to have my own server I would probably host it on its own dedicated machine so that I did not have to worry about other stuff on the machine.

2. Rockn

Rockn

Can you access it on the computer that IIS is set up on?

3. GS3