MS Office 2007 Professional will not install

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Ebenezer_Scrooge

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
3
MS Office 2007 Professional will not install on my freshly-reinstalled Windows 7 system. It does not get past the splash screen 'Setup is preparing the necessary files', but hangs.

The summary error message in Event Viewer is as follows:

The device, \Device\CDRom0, has a bad block.

The detail is:

+ System

- Provider

[ Name] cdrom

- EventID 7

[ Qualifiers] 49156

Level 2

Task 0

Keywords 0x80000000000000

- TimeCreated

[ SystemTime] 2011-01-30T22:29:07.719785100Z

EventRecordID 1594

Channel System

Computer PC_main

Security


- EventData

\Device\CdRom0
030A80000100000000000000070004C0000100000000000000000000000000000090FC1D00000000FCE1010000000000FFFFFFFF02000000580000C40200010000200A124802000000000000040100000050C007A0F8FFFF2072050580FAFFFF0000000000000000102E4B0480FAFFFF107CC50680FAFFFF000000000000000028000003BF9200000100000000000000F000030003BF920A00000000020000000000000000000000

There does not seem to be a problem either with the DVD drive or with the actual installation discs; the program installed happily on my other Wiindows XP PC, and the DVD drive seems to be able to read other installation discs satisfactorily.

I am getting rather desperate!
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2004
Messages
2,536
Copy & paste everything from the Office CD to a new folder on your Windows 7 desktop, then run Office setup from that folder.
 

Ebenezer_Scrooge

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
3
Thank you - someone else had suggested this, and I tried it, but am unfortunately getting another error message:

'This program can't start because lph.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.'

BTW the only executable I can find for running setup is Autorun.exe; there is no setup.exe visible anywhere.
 

Ebenezer_Scrooge

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
3
Copying the contents of the injstallation DVD to a directory on the hard drive and running the installation from there worked in the end. However, I now have a different problem: I cannot seem to activate the software! But that is another story, which I will spare the readership .....

Thank you
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
1
My PowerPoint will not open, well, It loads and then minimizes to the bottom tray and I can not restore, maximize, etc. etc.
Windows 7 on an Acer Aspire
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top