1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MS office network problem

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by terrym, Dec 20, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. terrym

    terrym Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    I have a laptop (W2000) as part of my home network. My Office 97 products operate perfect as long as I am on the network, but as soon as I disconnect the network cable Word and Excel start to give program errors ie WINWORD.exe has generated errors and will be closed by Windows.
    With Excel this will happen randomly if certain functions are used.
    Obviously these apps sense the network is not present, but what controls this and how did it get this way??
    This is a real pain when I travel.
    Help-Help
     
  2. evilmrhenry

    evilmrhenry

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    105
    It would help if I knew what functions cause errors.

    Look in MS Word, under Tools-Options in the File Locations tab (or in MS Excel under the General tab) and see if any paths there lead off the computer.
     
  3. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Some Excel functions (calculation-type, not feature-type) run from add-ins. Perhaps you don't have the add-ins installed on your hard drive??
     
  4. terrym

    terrym Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Path only shows C:\---That should be OK
    Word will not even fully load. The error comes very quickly.
    It indicates the error is written to the 'error log' do you know where that is??
    When it tries to load there is network activity for some reason.
    This is where the error is coming from.
     
  5. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Try this, Terry. While disconnected from the network:

    Hit Start-Run and type:

    winword.exe /regserver


    Do the same for:

    excel.exe /regserver


    See how that works for you.
     
  6. terrym

    terrym Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for the try, but still no cigar.
    When I run that command line , Word doesn't even open, something runs for a second then nothing.
    Terry
     
  7. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Alright. You need to get the big guys to give you admin access on your 'puter, sounds like. And if you already have that, then they've screwed something up. Have them check out your rights/login on your 'puter.

    Other stuff:

    A big maybe here.

    While ON the network.

    Start-Settings-Control panel.
    Add/remove
    Choose office 97
    Choose install.
    Once you've got the screen that looks like a list of drive letters, choose the top one (office 97) and choose "run all from my 'puter"

    ??

    If that doesn't work, then get the install CD. Uninstall Office, then completely remove it by using Eraser 97

    Then reinstall all while NOT connected to the network.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62366

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice