MS office network problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

terrym

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
3
I have a laptop (W2000) as part of my home network. My Office 97 products operate perfect as long as I am on the network, but as soon as I disconnect the network cable Word and Excel start to give program errors ie WINWORD.exe has generated errors and will be closed by Windows.
With Excel this will happen randomly if certain functions are used.
Obviously these apps sense the network is not present, but what controls this and how did it get this way??
This is a real pain when I travel.
Help-Help
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
105
It would help if I knew what functions cause errors.

Look in MS Word, under Tools-Options in the File Locations tab (or in MS Excel under the General tab) and see if any paths there lead off the computer.
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Some Excel functions (calculation-type, not feature-type) run from add-ins. Perhaps you don't have the add-ins installed on your hard drive??
 

terrym

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
3
Path only shows C:\---That should be OK
Word will not even fully load. The error comes very quickly.
It indicates the error is written to the 'error log' do you know where that is??
When it tries to load there is network activity for some reason.
This is where the error is coming from.
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Try this, Terry. While disconnected from the network:

Hit Start-Run and type:

winword.exe /regserver


Do the same for:

excel.exe /regserver


See how that works for you.
 

terrym

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
3
Thanks for the try, but still no cigar.
When I run that command line , Word doesn't even open, something runs for a second then nothing.
Terry
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Alright. You need to get the big guys to give you admin access on your 'puter, sounds like. And if you already have that, then they've screwed something up. Have them check out your rights/login on your 'puter.

Other stuff:

A big maybe here.

While ON the network.

Start-Settings-Control panel.
Add/remove
Choose office 97
Choose install.
Once you've got the screen that looks like a list of drive letters, choose the top one (office 97) and choose "run all from my 'puter"

??

If that doesn't work, then get the install CD. Uninstall Office, then completely remove it by using Eraser 97

Then reinstall all while NOT connected to the network.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top