1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MS Security Essentials and WSC

Discussion in 'General Security' started by Tabvla, Feb 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tabvla

    Tabvla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    A PC that I am working on today has Microsoft Security Essentials installed as its AV program.

    The MS Security Essentials Icon is visible in the Taskbar and when clicked MSE opens and options such as Scan and Update all work as expected.

    However, in the same Taskbar the Windows Security Centre Icon is also visible which when clicked reports that "Your computer is at risk...Microsoft Security Essentials is turned OFF...."

    Updating, restarting several times and numerous cups of coffee have not resolved the problem. MSE says it is ON while WSC says that it is OFF.

    Any opinions as to which of these services is reporting correctly..:confused:

    TiA

    T
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    What's the operating system?
     
  3. Tabvla

    Tabvla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Ouch ! :eek: Sorry about that Phantom, OS is XP Pro SP3 with Jan 2013 updates.

    MSE was updated today.

    T.
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    1. Click on Start > Run > type services.msc and press Enter.

    2. Locate and stop Windows Management Instrumentation & Security Center. By default, the Startup Type on both should be Automatic.

    3. Go to C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem.

    4. Only delete the Repository folder.

    5. Reboot your computer.

    This will rebuild the deleted folder and the database.


    If no luck,

    It might not hurt to reset Security Center registry settings with Wscfix.
     
  5. Tabvla

    Tabvla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Phantom, thanks for the instructions.

    I will be working on that computer again on Thursday and will update this post then.

    Tks

    T.
     
  6. rhabdomantist

    rhabdomantist

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    With XP machines it can be a resource issue (Security Center starts before MSE)
    Quick fix to clear WSC warning is toggle MSE RTP.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088280

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice