MS updates crashed my XP Pro PC

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bassetman

Thread Starter
Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
Last night my PC said it was installing'needed' updates, when it go t the point it was going to reboot, it hung up.
After quite awhile I manually re-booted it, and now it only gets to the first two lines in the boot sequence and hangs again. F9 for express recovery and other options do nothing.

Any ideas?

BTW It doesn't recognize my floppy or CD ROM so booting from CD it not an option. I do have a full install CD of XP Pro though.


Thanks
John
 

bassetman

Thread Starter
Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
Just remembered I also allowed my bank to install a security login program shortly before it crashed! :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
80
The updates sometimes have conflicts with a driver or software and can cause a crash. Doing windows repair will usually fix this, but if you can't even boot to a cd then i would suspect a hardware issue.
 

bassetman

Thread Starter
Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
The updates sometimes have conflicts with a driver or software and can cause a crash. Doing windows repair will usually fix this, but if you can't even boot to a cd then i would suspect a hardware issue.
Seems to me I might have seen a boot sector warning awhile back, but continued to work OK after that. Any suggesstions?

PS I have a LT, can I somehow link the two and run a CD from my LT to do repairs?
 

bassetman

Thread Starter
Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
The updates sometimes have conflicts with a driver or software and can cause a crash. Doing windows repair will usually fix this, but if you can't even boot to a cd then i would suspect a hardware issue.
BTW The CD used to work, and it "sees" it, but can't read it or even my Flash Drive! :(
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
80
so if you go into the bios and set the cd to the first boot device. put the xp cd and it will not boot?
 

bassetman

Thread Starter
Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
so if you go into the bios and set the cd to the first boot device. put the xp cd and it will not boot?
Can I get to BIOS before it finishes mem check etal? If so how?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You should be hitting the BIOS key as soon as the BIOS puts something up on the screen. I start tapping the key right after the first text appears and until I see the BIOS acknowledge that it's entering setup. :)
 

bassetman

Thread Starter
Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
You should be hitting the BIOS key as soon as the BIOS puts something up on the screen. I start tapping the key right after the first text appears and until I see the BIOS acknowledge that it's entering setup. :)
OK, which is the BIOS key? ;)
 

bassetman

Thread Starter
Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
so if you go into the bios and set the cd to the first boot device. put the xp cd and it will not boot?
It wouldn't recognize anything in the CD ROM before, if I can get into BIOS I will try that.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Sounds like you have a "white box" (custom build) so tapping "del" continuously after pressing the power button should take you into "bios" or "setup". If a brand give it to us and we will give you bios key.
 

bassetman

Thread Starter
Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
Sounds like you have a "white box" (custom build) so tapping "del" continuously after pressing the power button should take you into "bios" or "setup". If a brand give it to us and we will give you bios key.
You are right, I built most of it. Thanks, I'll try that.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top