MS Word 2000 causes monitor to freak out.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CellarDweller

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2002
Messages
241
(Using Windows 98se..... This problem has just started occuring in the past few days, and has never happened before.)

A few days ago I changed my screen resolution from 1024x768 to 800x600 for a few minutes while I tested a web page. After putting it back to 1024x768, ever since then Word 2000 (Premium) has been acting up. Usually after having done some copy/pasting within a document, my screen colors go weird, as seen in this screenshot: http://www.cbiweb.com/images/badscreen.png .

This affects everything. After closing Word, my desktop is screwed up the same way, and anything else I open is just as bad. Rebooting clears it up, but even the Windows shut down screen is screwed up. So whatever's happening, it affects my entire monitor. But it only happens when using Word as described above. I'd sure like a clue as to what's causing this to happen.

Troubleshooting I've already done:

First of all, there were no changes to the system when this problem started. I did not install or uninstall anything.

- Scanned for viruses/trojans/etc.
- Ran AdAware to check for spyware/adware/malware; none found.
- Ran scandisk with DOS, defragged with Windows defrag (DOS wouldn't let me do it :confused: ).
- Reinstalled Word.

PLEASE NOTE: You'll see a reference to BearShare in the screenshot, but as I stated above there is no spyware/adware/malware on my computer.


Here's my startup log:

1. HKLM Run - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
"ScanRegistry"="C:\\WINDOWS\\scanregw.exe /autorun"
"SystemTray"="SysTray.Exe"
"POINTER"="C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft IntelliPoint 4.0\\Mouse\\SETUP\\MSH\\Mouse\\point32.exe"
"Say the Time"="C:\\Program Files\\Say the Time\\SayTime.exe"
"InCD"="C:\\Program Files\\ahead\\InCD\\InCD.exe"
"1A:Stardock TrayMonitor"=""
"LoadQM"="loadqm.exe"
"Vet Alert"="C:\\WINDOWS\\System\\VetMsg9x.exe"
"VetTray"="C:\\PROGRA~1\\COMPUT~1\\ETRUST~1\\ETRUST~1\\VETTRAY.EXE"
"Vet Start Up"="C:\\PROGRA~1\\COMPUT~1\\ETRUST~1\\ETRUST~1\\VET32.EXE /PROGRESSIVE"
"Realtime Monitor"="\"C:\\Program Files\\CA\\eTrust EZ Armor\\eTrust EZ Antivirus\\realmon.exe\""
"TkBellExe"="C:\\Program Files\\Common Files\\Real\\Update_OB\\realsched.exe -osboot"
"QuickTime Task"="\"C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\QTTASK.EXE\" -atboottime"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents\MSFS]
"Installed"="1"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents\MAPI]
"NoChange"="1"
"Installed"="1"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents\IMAIL]
"Installed"="1"


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

2. HKCU Run - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

3. HKLM RunOnce - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce]


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

4. HKCU RunOnce - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce]


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

5. HKLM RunServices - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices]
"PersFw"="C:\\Program Files\\Tiny Personal Firewall\\persfw.exe"
"1A:Stardock TrayMonitor"=""
"InoTask"="C:\\Program Files\\CA\\eTrust EZ Armor\\eTrust EZ Antivirus\\InoTask.exe"
"InoRT"="C:\\Program Files\\CA\\eTrust EZ Armor\\eTrust EZ Antivirus\\InoRT9x.exe"


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

6. HKLM RunServicesOnce - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServicesOnce]


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

7. WIN.INI File - (c:\windows\win.ini)

Your win.ini run/load lines should look like run= and load= exclusively.
There should be nothing to the right of the equal signs.


These are the run and load lines in your WIN.INI file

run=

load=

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

8. SYSTEM.INI File - (c:\windows\system.ini)

Your system.ini shell line should look like shell=Explorer.exe exclusively.
You should only see Explorer.exe following the equal sign.


This is the shell line in your SYSTEM.INI file

shell=Explorer.exe

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

9. AUTOEXEC.BAT File - (c:\autoexec.bat)

(Some trojans have been known to start from this file)


These are your program startups and set paths in your autoexec.bat file

SET AVENGINE=C:\PROGRA~1\CA\ETRUST~1\SCANEN~1
PATH=C:\PROGRA~1\CA\ETRUST~1\SCANEN~1;C:\PROGRA~1\CA\ETRUST~1\ETRUST~1
SET INOCULAN=C:\PROGRA~1\CA\ETRUST~1\ETRUST~1

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

10. StartUp Folder - (c:\windows\start menu\programs\startup)

Shortcuts to any program will automatically start when placed here.


These are the shortcuts located in your StartUp folder

*(No start-ups found)*

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

11. All Users Folder - (c:\windows\all users\start menu\programs\startup)

Shortcuts to any program will automatically start when placed here.


These are the shortcuts located in your All Users StartUp folder


*(No start-ups found)*

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

12. Miscellaneous StartUp Configurations

-============================-
Registry StartUp Directories
-============================-

Should show the Start Menu StartUp and All Users StartUp directories

.....................................................................

[1] HKCU - Shell Folders

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders

"Startup"="C:\\WINDOWS\\Start Menu\\Programs\\StartUp"

.....................................................................

[2] HKCU - User Shell Folders

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders


.....................................................................

[3] HKLM - Shell Folders

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\Shell Folders

"Common Startup"="C:\\WINDOWS\\All Users\\Start Menu\\Programs\\StartUp"

.....................................................................

[4] HKLM - User Shell Folders

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\User Shell Folders


.....................................................................

-=======================-
Registry Shell Spawning
-=======================-

Open Commands for Executable File Types

@="\"%1\" %*"
(.exe file - RegPath = HKCR\exefile\shell\open\command)

@="\"%1\" %*"
(.com file - RegPath = HKCR\comfile\shell\open\command)

@="\"%1\" /S"
(.scr file - RegPath = HKCR\scrfile\shell\open\command)

@="\"%1\" %*"
(.bat file - RegPath = HKCR\batfile\shell\open\command)

@="\"%1\" %*"
(.pif file - RegPath = HKCR\piffile\shell\open\command)

@="C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\MSHTA.EXE \"%1\" %*"
(.hta file - RegPath = HKCR\htafile\shell\open\command)

-=========================-
HKLM RunOnceEx - Registry
-=========================-


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnceEx]


-=========================-
HKU (.Default) Run - Registry
-=========================-


[HKEY_USERS\.Default\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]


-==============================-
HKU (.Default) RunOnce - Registry
-==============================-


[HKEY_USERS\.Default\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce]


-================================-
StubPaths - Registry (Partial Listing)
-================================-

(Please see the StubPath.txt on your desktop for complete listing)

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components


"RealStubPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\IE4UINIT.EXE"
"StubPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\msnmgsr1.exe"
"StubPath"=""
"StubPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\COMMAND\\sulfnbk.exe /L"
"OldStubPath"="\"C:\\Program Files\\Outlook Express\\setup50.exe\" /APP:OE /CALLER:WIN9X /user /install"
"RealStubPath"="\"C:\\Program Files\\Outlook Express\\setup50.exe\" /APP:OE /CALLER:IE50 /user /install"
"OldStubPath"="\"C:\\Program Files\\Outlook Express\\setup50.exe\" /APP:WAB /CALLER:WIN9X /user /install"
"RealStubPath"="\"C:\\Program Files\\Outlook Express\\setup50.exe\" /APP:WAB /CALLER:IE50 /user /install"
"StubPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\verisignpub1.crl"

-=================-
WININIT.BAK File - (c:\windows\wininit.bak)
(name) (type) (size)(modified)(time)
wininit bak 753 01-10-03 10:48p
-=================-

[rename]
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_INS5576._MP
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\ZDATAI51.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_WUTL951.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CORECOMP.INI
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CTL3D32.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\AD041D.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\ISUNINST.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\LICENSE.TXT
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\VSSVER.SCC
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\VALUE.SHL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\AD03F9.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\PFTD2F~1\SETUP.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\PFTD2F~1\_ISDEL.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\PFTD2F~1\_SETUP.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\PFTD2F~1
-=====================-
Screen Saver Settings (Possible system.ini start-up)
-=====================-


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

- Supplemental Environment Information -

TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
AVENGINE=C:\PROGRA~1\CA\ETRUST~1\SCANEN~1
PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\PROGRA~1\CA\ETRUST~1\SCANEN~1;C:\PROGRA~1\CA\ETRUST~1\ETRUST~1
INOCULAN=C:\PROGRA~1\CA\ETRUST~1\ETRUST~1
windir=C:\WINDOWS

File - c:\Boot.ini
File - c:\windows\Wininit.bak
File - c:\windows\deletefi.ini

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

- End -
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
507
Just one suggestion here. Drop adaware, unless you have the new 6.0 version of it as the 5.83 version is old and not updated. I would strong suggest getting SpyBot SD. You can get it from the link below. Download it, install it, then click the "online" option from the left of the window and then "look for updates". Get the updates, close your browser window and then run it.


http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/index.html


Good Luck
 

CellarDweller

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2002
Messages
241
Thanks for the advice, NotRite. I checked my AdAware version, and it is 5.83. I'll check out SpyBot.

I'm quite certain, however, that spyware's not the problem. So far, it's only when using Word - and only if I'm copying/pasting, that it occurs.
 

CellarDweller

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2002
Messages
241
You mean to tell me I've actually stumped TSG!?!? I cannot believe it! That's gotta be a first.


Note to Mods: Is there any way to lock this post on the first page
so it doesn't get pushed to page 5 again? I really need help with
this, and I'd like it to remain visible. Pretty please? :D
 

Miz

Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
2,146
I had the same problem. I have no idea why it only started with Word usage but when I reinstalled the video drivers the problem went away. Might have been coincidence but it's worth a shot.

Good luck.
 

CellarDweller

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2002
Messages
241
hmmm... I've reinstalled video drivers and other things. But...

Since my original post I wiped my system clean and installed XP only. The problem still occurs. Am I looking at replacing the video card itself? It's weird because this doesn't happen with any other app or program, and never happens with any other type of computer usage. Only when using Word. Very strange.
 

CellarDweller

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2002
Messages
241
Yep. I've reinstalled all the video drivers, too. I'm afraid I'm looking at replacing the video card itself. :(
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top