1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MS Word Footer Macro Different Front Page

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by jm7sa, Oct 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jm7sa

jm7sa Thread Starter

Hi - I am trying to write a simple macro for MS Word (I'm using 2007 but would like it to work for 2003 too ideally)

The macro should:

1. insert a website address and company details into the footer of the first page of a document and then
    2. insert a logo into the footer of all subsequent pages.
    I'm a bit of a newbie and I've tried to record a macro to do this but it puts everything into the first footer.

I have searched through these forums and come up with a macro that lets me place text into the first page only - but I can't then add the alternative footer for subsequent pages.

Here's my macro (apologies in advance....)

Sub footer()
    '
    ' footer Macro
    '
    '

ActiveDocument.PageSetup.DifferentFirstPageHeaderFooter = True
    WordBasic.ViewFooterOnly
    Selection.Font.Size = 8
    Selection.ParagraphFormat.Alignment = wdAlignParagraphRight
    Selection.TypeText Text:= _
    "MY WEBSITE ADDRESS AND COMPANY DETAILS"
    If ActiveWindow.View.SplitSpecial = wdPaneNone Then
    ActiveWindow.ActivePane.View.Type = wdPrintView
    Else
    ActiveWindow.View.Type = wdPrintView
    WordBasic.ViewFooterOnly
    Selection.InlineShapes.AddPicture FileName:= _
    "C:\images\mylogo.jpg", _
    LinkToFile:=False, SaveWithDocument:=True
    End If

End Sub

2. md2lgyk

md2lgyk

Unless you're just trying your hand at writing a macro, why are you doing this? There's a much easier way in Word already.

3. jm7sa

jm7sa Thread Starter