1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MS Word interacts strangely after installing a video game

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by fsgregs, Feb 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fsgregs

fsgregs Thread Starter

Hi all: I'm new to the forum. Hope you can help.

I am a teacher who uses and writes Astronomy activities and lesson plans for high school use and for enjoyment by anyone around the world, using MS Word 2002. Inside my MS Word docs, I have an embedded hyperlink that links to a Windows shortcut file. The shortcut launches another application (an Astronomy simulation program). When a reader clicks on the embedded hyperlink in the MS Word document, it activates the shortcut, which in turn, launches the Astronomy program. It works great! :)

That is, until I install a video game ... :mad: any video game ... on my computer. As soon as I do so, that hyperlink to that Windows shortcut inside my MS Word document no longer works. Clicking on it does nothing. I have NO IDEA why installing a video game should have any impact at all on how MS Word activates hyperlinks inside its documents. It makes no difference if I have MS Word open or closed when installing the game. The effect is the same. The video game also does not have to be running for the effect to happen. What is really weird is that this seems to be strictly an MS Word problem. The Windows shortcut file itself still works fine if I click on it separately (outside of the Word document). It launches the app without problems.

Worse, uninstalling the video game does not remove the problem. I actually have to "system restore" using the Windows XP restore feature, to a time before I installed the video game. Then ... :confused: the MS Word hyperlink works again just fine.