msconfig gone

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

padutch

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2001
Messages
1,297
Running XP Pro . Just installed a slave HD and did a copy from old HD to new one . Everything went fine or so I thought . Running new HD now . Just now went to start , run and typed in msconfig and clicked ok . Nothing happens . No window no nothing . Other commands from run seem to work except msconfig . Any thoughts ?
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Does Start > Run > msconfig.exe work?

Regedit, CMD work?
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
2,461
padutch, Go into Folder Options>View tab and select the option "Show hidden files and folders" and uncheck "Hide protected operating system files (recommended)", click Apply/OK. Now do a file search for: msconfig.exe

There should be a copy in the C:\Windows\pchealth\helpctr\binaries folder and a copy in the C:\Windows\System32\dllcache folder. If the copy in the binaries folder is missing just copy it from the dllcache folder and paste it into the binaries folder.

Tufenuf
 

padutch

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2001
Messages
1,297
padutch, Go into Folder Options>View tab and select the option "Show hidden files and folders" and uncheck "Hide protected operating system files (recommended)", click Apply/OK. Now do a file search for: msconfig.exe

There should be a copy in the C:\Windows\pchealth\helpctr\binaries folder and a copy in the C:\Windows\System32\dllcache folder. If the copy in the binaries folder is missing just copy it from the dllcache folder and paste it into the binaries folder.

Tufenuf
already have done that with no results
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
already have done that with no results
Can you clarify??

Do you mean that there was not a file in C:\Windows\pchealth\helpctr\binaries?

Or, that when you copied it from dllcache, that did not work either? Or, there was not a copy there?
 

padutch

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2001
Messages
1,297
Can you clarify??

Do you mean that there was not a file in C:\Windows\pchealth\helpctr\binaries?

Or, that when you copied it from dllcache, that did not work either? Or, there was not a copy there?
there was a file in C:\Windows\pchealth\helpctr\binaries . I also coppied from the old hd which msconfig works and pasted it to replace the one in C:\Windows\pchealth\helpctr\binaries but that didn't help either .
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
4,910
Greetings padutch

Try Giving The Full Path

Start > Run > C:\WINDOWS\pchealth\helpctr\binaries\msconfig.exe
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Msconfig is found from a field in the registry

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\MSCONFIG.EXE that has the value of "C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe".

Either you are a fan of Registry Cleaners or an uninstaller has ripped out this path.

You can recreate it via Regedit, or just create a Shortcut to the exe in \binaries.
 

padutch

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2001
Messages
1,297
Msconfig is found from a field in the registry

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\MSCONFIG.EXE that has the value of "C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe".

Either you are a fan of Registry Cleaners or an uninstaller has ripped out this path.

You can recreate it via Regedit, or just create a Shortcut to the exe in \binaries.
The path is right where it is supposed to be and is the same as you have it in the reg
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
2,461
padutch, What happens when you double left click on one of those msconfig.exe files?

Tufenuf
 
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
7,091
What happens when you go to C:\WINDOWS\pchealth\helpctr\binaries and double-click on msconfig.exe?

Edit: Tufenuf, you read my mind.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top