1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

msconfig / Startup / avanquest won't uncheck

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by silverado4, Jan 9, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. silverado4

    silverado4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,518
    I downloaded "in pixio" software, and it put a check in my start up's for avanquest. I used "msconfig" and unchecked it. When I re-booted, it was checked again. Does anyone know how I can get that check out of the box in my start ups?
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Did you look inside the software settings for an option to make the program start with Windows?
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,727
    First Name:
    Frank
    Besides its entry in the MSCONFIG startup list, see if it has any entries in the SERVICES.MSC services list.

    If it does, you can change the "Startup Type" from Automatic to Manual or Disabled.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. silverado4

    silverado4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,518
    I went to control panel, and unistalled an aqanquest "message" program. This sub directory has things in it like the attached, I didn't like what I saw. The program still works, and I renames the sub directory to "SAVE DO NOT USE", just in case it still tried to look at that sub directory. So far so good. No, the program does not have an option to "DO NOT OPEN AT START UP". I tried that already. I'm trying to fild where I can upload a picture, hang tight.
    Thanks
     
  5. silverado4

    silverado4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,518
    Looks like I can only attach the file at the first entry. Take a looks, Thanks
     
  6. silverado4

    silverado4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,518
    The AQnotif.exe is my concern. I renamed the sub directory that has it, and I unistalled it.
    Program like I said, still works, and the program does not get loaded back into my start ups.
    I think I got it...
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - msconfig Startup avanquest
  1. discgolfer
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    198
  2. TArzate5
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    719
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1140866

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice