1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

msconfig startup

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by rdethomas, Jan 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rdethomas

    rdethomas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    What will happen on the next boot if I click "disable all" on the msconfig startup tab? Is it true that only the XP process items will regenerate?
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    If you look at the startup processes in the startup list then they are the ones that will not startup........if you look at the Applications list they will.


    What is the problem you are trying to solve or is this just a query?
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,501
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm curious too as to what you're trying to do.

    Personally, I have nothing else except for my antivirus program, firewall program, and ctfmon.exe running in the background. All other startup entries are unchecked and disabled from doing so. Depending on how you use your computer and what peripherals are connected to it will determine which startup entries absolutely need to run in the background.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. rdethomas

    rdethomas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    I have a McAffee error message but I do not have a MacAffee program installed. The System32 folder appears at startup also.
     
  5. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    If we can see your startup list would help.

    Here's how

    Download Hijack This to your desktop
    Open it and click on the Hijack.exe it will open and use the default path
    Check do you wish an Icon.......
    Click on Icon and choose Open Misc Tools Section
    Then at the top Click on Generate a Startup list.... it will open in notepad

    Copy & Paste it in your next reply
     
  6. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,501
    First Name:
    Frank
    By all means, post a HijackThis log.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Look in the Add/Remove Programs list in the Control Panel, and look in the C:\
    Program Files
    folder. Are any of these entries present?

    McAfee

    VirusScan

    Network Associates

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537651

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice