1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

msconfig will not save changes

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jdjr, Jan 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jdjr

jdjr Thread Starter

While trying to deal with a problem which caused Roxio Media Manager to attempt to reinstall with each boot, I needed to turn off the service using msconfig. Even thought I am logged in as an Administrator, I get the following error message when I attempt to apply the changes.

"An access denied error has occurred while attempting to change a service. You may need to log on using ad Administrator account to make the specified changes."

I am running Windows XP, SP2, on an ancient Dell laptop. I cured the Media Manager issue by uninstalling my Blackberry Desktop Software (of all things), but the msconfig issue persists. I have McAffee anti-virus Plus, so I assume this is a Windows and not a malware problem. I have tried changing other services, with the same result. Anyone have an idea?

2. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    You should not be unchecking any services in

Start - Run - MSCONFIG - OK - Services(tab)

The entire list should remain checked.

If you need to change the "startup type" in any services to Automatic or Manual or Disabled, do it in

Start - Run - SERVICES.MSC - OK

--------------------------------------------------------------

3. Phantom010

Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

You can do it from Start > Run > services.msc

Or, you can do it from the registry.

Click Start > Run > type regedit

Browse to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services

Locate the service for Roxio Media Manager.

In the right-hand pane, look at the DWORD Start.

The last number at the end of the entry will be either:

(0) for Boot.