1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

msconfig

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by derekminivan, Jul 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. derekminivan

    derekminivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    i was trying to increase my laptops performance and trying to either remove unnecessary startup items using "msconfig" or to remove corrupted files from my hard drive, and i restarted my laptop and everything, but now everything has gone from my desktop. loads of programs in the "Start" menu now dont work and say "class not registered" when i click on them. Only the programs in "All Programs" work, but i have to click "Run as Administrator" for them to work, not even the sound works?? truth is i have no idea what's gone wrong, and i cant really remember what i did for it to happen, i would be eternally grateful if someone could cure my ignorance :):)
     
  2. captainron276

    captainron276 Ron

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,754
    Please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread.
    Also, if its a brand name system like an Acer,Dell or HP, please post the exact model of the system.
     
  3. aks56h

    aks56h

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Trying restoring your pc to nearest checkpoints it works dont worry. Do this in safe mode
     
  4. derekminivan

    derekminivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    ive tried to restore in both safe mode and normal windows startup but it says i have no restore points, yet i created a restore point a few days before the problem.
     
  5. derekminivan

    derekminivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    i tried to do this, but i can download it but when i open it, it doesn't work, i cant download and open files like that now.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,579
    What did you mess with or change in these tabs?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. derekminivan

    derekminivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    i genuinely cannot remember what i did exactly, im not being very helpful. The only major thing i can mention, is in the start menu the tabs on the right hand side say "Class not registered" so i cant open "My Computer"
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Unless your hard drive is faulty, there were no "corrupted files" on your system. Where did you delete files? Are they recycled?

    It looks like you may need to reinstall.
     
  9. derekminivan

    derekminivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    The problem is i dont know how to check where the deleted files are. what do i need to reinstall do you think?
     
  10. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Reinstall Windows and your programs.
     
  11. derekminivan

    derekminivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    ive tried that, but when it starts the process of reinstalling it, it doesn't work
     
  12. Phyxiis

    Phyxiis

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Backup any documents/pictures/songs/etc. before this!!! Next step will DELETE ALL information!!

    Boot the computer using a Windows 7 DVD and perform a clean install (will DELETE ALL information) and then reinstall your applications and transfer your documents/pictures/songs/etc.
     
  13. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What does "doesn't work" mean?
     
  14. ILoveXP

    ILoveXP

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    You probably disabled some important services from running. Go to Services and enable ALL of them (I guess), then restart and see if that works. Then at least you'll know that was the problem, and then can try carefully disabling ones you don't need
     
  15. derekminivan

    derekminivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    and how do i open services?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. surfnets
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    297
  2. briddersm
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    371
  3. Echo2436
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    610
  4. Katie80
    Replies:
    36
    Views:
    2,772
  5. devil
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,582
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063110