1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MSC's and Command line switches.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by StumpedTechy, Mar 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,232
    I know on alot of msc's on a computer you can type in XXXX.msc /Computer=ComputerName and connect to a remote computer is there any way to get a list of what command line items you can do on this to configure it? I looked into mmc.exe and tried the /? and I tried that on the individual mscs as well with no success Searching the web has yielded me only a list of the mscs and what they do even thought i already know that.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. Wolfeymole

    Wolfeymole

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740
    Have you been here Stumped?
     
  3. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,232
    Yeah I found the mmc but not anything on msc and supposedly the /? is a valid switch but I have yet to have it work on ANYTHING.

    syntax I have tried is -

    MMC /?
    MMC C:\windows\system32\XXXX.msc /?
    C:\Windows\system32\XXXX.msc /?

    In all cases it either just pops open the msc without giving me help information or does nothing.
     
  4. MMJ

    MMJ Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
    Did you try PSTools?
     
  5. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,232
    :confused: I have used them in the past but I am failing to see how will they give me the commands for the mmc/msc's?
     
  6. MMJ

    MMJ Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
    Sorry I read too fast.
     
  7. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,232
    I know this is an old thread but I need this functionality.... BUMP
     
  8. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
  9. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,232
    Yeah those aren't even close enough. I want to be able to open an MSC or MMC and have it open at a specific location. E.G. DSA.msc is ADUC GUI interface. when you open it it always opens at the last place you had it set. I want it so every time its opened it goes to a specific object/container. Also something like compmgmt.msc and have it open at the Application event log. Something that the interface should easily be able to perform if command line switches were put in place. Maybe theres some other utility out there that can do this I donno.
     
  10. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    I am going to quote Johnwill, "AutoIt works quite well for stuff like this".

    I know he is going to come back and say I misquoted him. :)

    I actually don't know if it will or not but it is worth a shot.
     
  11. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,232
    While I usually agree on whats a good tool I have 2 problems. I don't think auto its scripts can be passed information from a gui your working in to the auto-it script. Then the bigger problem is Auto-It isn't an approved tool in this organization so I can't use it.

    The joys or working in large corporate america.
     
  12. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    You can log onto a remote computer and control it using Netmeeting. No third party tools required.
     
  13. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    Yeah, where I work, we pretty much disregard that rule because they won't purchase any tools to do our job. So we started finding any free or open source apps to do our jobs.
     
  14. MMJ

    MMJ Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
    I know this is an old thread but I was playing with MMC just know and came across some interesting info.

    Code:
    RUNAS USAGE:
    
    RUNAS [ [/noprofile | /profile] [/env] [/netonly] ]
            /user:<UserName> program
    
    RUNAS [ [/noprofile | /profile] [/env] [/netonly] ]
            /smartcard [/user:<UserName>] program
    
       /noprofile        specifies that the user's profile should not be loaded.
                         This causes the application to load more quickly, but
                         can cause some applications to malfunction.
       /profile          specifies that the user's profile should be loaded.
                         This is the default.
       /env              to use current environment instead of user's.
       /netonly          use if the credentials specified are for remote
                         access only.
       /savecred         to use credentials previously saved by the user.
                         This option is not available on Windows XP Home Edition
                         and will be ignored.
       /smartcard        use if the credentials are to be supplied from a
                         smartcard.
       /user             <UserName> should be in form USER@DOMAIN or DOMAIN\USER
       program         command line for EXE.  See below for examples
    
    Examples:
    > runas /noprofile /user:mymachine\administrator cmd
    > runas /profile /env /user:mydomain\admin "mmc %windir%\system32\dsa.msc"
    > runas /env /user:[email protected] "notepad \"my file.txt\""
    
    NOTE:  Enter user's password only when prompted.
    NOTE:  USER@DOMAIN is not compatible with /netonly.
    NOTE:  /profile is not compatible with /netonly.
    Really helpful link >>> ms-its:C:\WINDOWS\help\ntcmds.chm::/runas.htm

    I could be totally wrong because I don't have another comp to test it with. If that is the case than :eek:
     
  15. lili1126

    lili1126

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Many many thanks....this PSTools is the Thing that i have been looking for long time ago...thanks again! :D
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/553525