1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MSDTC.exe 100% CPU usage

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by pig_master, Apr 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pig_master

    pig_master Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Just recentally when turning on one of my computers nothing would finish it's boot up process. I checked the task manager, and MSDTC.exe was topping out at near 100% CPU usage. I've spent a few hours searching around the net, and found that there apparently is some error with Win 2k server editions (http://archives.neohapsis.com/archives/vulnwatch/2002-q2/0031.html). So I looked into getting MS02-018 patch for it, but I can't get anything to load up on the computer since the CPU is maxed out all the time.
    So i thought about getting the patch on a different computer and burning it on a CD and loading it up on the infected computer while it's in safe mode, but Microsofts website doesn't have the patch there anymore. I ask if there is anyway I can get this patch on the computer or if there is any other solutions to getting MSDTC.exe to work like is supposed to.

    thanks,
    Phil
    PS. I rambled on a little bit, but i tried to give most information that I thought might be needed.
     
  2. pig_master

    pig_master Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    I talked with one of my friends and he told me i should just disable the program from starting up. He told me to turn the Distributed Transaction Coordinator off from the start up. The CPU usage is fine now. But i wonder if there is still possible harm to my computer by not actually getting rid of the program with the problem.
     
  3. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Can you not kill the process in task manager ?
     
  4. pig_master

    pig_master Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    No I couldn't. If i tried an access denied thing would come up telling me the task could not be shut down
     
  5. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    You have to have admin rights to stop this service from running.
     
  6. pig_master

    pig_master Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    I do have admin rights, if fact admin is the only user to set up on the thing
     
  7. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    You could try start/ run / services.msc
    Then scroll down to server, double click and set to disable, stop then apply..Then try what you were doing.

    Afterwards reopen the services folder and change the server setting back.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/219840

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice