MSI B550 Gaming Plus + Ryzen 5 3600 Issues

Booja

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2020
Messages
5
I am in need of aid!
I have been building a couple of computers and i would say i feel pretty comfortable doing so. Hopefully there is a silly mistake i am doing which would fix the issue i have been working on a few weeks now.

The problem lies within booting the computer itself. All the parts that should light up, does so. All fans are spinning, except the GPU. The fan does spin sometimes and then stop in a repeating order. I have not gottan into post or BIOS yet. There is only a blackscreen looking far into my soul. The monitor does not seem to get a response. I have tried other functional monitors, different wires and re-plugged all wires with new wires. from hdmi to PCI power cable etc etc.

Currently i have this build: https://www.userbenchmark.com/PCBuilder/Custom/S195347-M810675.842599.700020.89269vsS0-M
I have just swapped out the ROG STRIX B450-I with the B550 because i found out of the compatibility issues with the Ryzen 5 3600 to booting into BIOS. With the previous motherboard i still didnt get into post. From my understanding with the B550 i should not be required to update BIOS with the current CPU that i have. In the process of swapping the motherboard i also replaced the graphicscard, just incase if it was faulty.

There might be a possibility of the CPU being faulty, but would like to try every other option before i return it.

I apologize if something was unclear or badly explained, my brain is producing steam through and out of my ears from frustration.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,248
Your link just shows a variety of parts. Post the exact motherboard you are using.
Common errors for inexperienced builders;
1 The 8/12pin aux/cpu pw connector not plugged in
2 Atx pw connector not fully seated
3 Motherboard shorting to case due to incorrect placement of standoffs
4 Parts not compatible [unknown since we have no idea what motherboard you are using]
5 CPU cooler not installed correctly. More an intel problem than an amd problem since the amd type coolers are pretty much idiot proof
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
3,481
I recently had a RAM compatibility issue with a friend's Ryzen build.
Make sure your RAM is on the motherboard manufacturers "approved" list.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,381
Make sure you are connected to the Graphics card not the motherboard.
 

Booja

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2020
Messages
5
Your link just shows a variety of parts. Post the exact motherboard you are using.
Common errors for inexperienced builders;
1 The 8/12pin aux/cpu pw connector not plugged in
2 Atx pw connector not fully seated
3 Motherboard shorting to case due to incorrect placement of standoffs
4 Parts not compatible [unknown since we have no idea what motherboard you are using]
5 CPU cooler not installed correctly. More an intel problem than an amd problem since the amd type coolers are pretty much idiot proof
Motherboard: MSI MPG B550 GAMING PLUS
Checklist:
8/12
pins and CPU pins are connected properly.
ATX Power Connector is connected
I looked thoroughly for any shorting by all of the standoffs, but seems to be okay. Wouldn't the fans stop spinning if there was any shorting?
Parts should be compatible, but please double check to see if i missed something.
CPU cooler is fine, using the amd wraith fan cooler.
HDMI / Displayport is connected to GPU

Any other ideas?

 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,248
Wouldn't the fans stop spinning if there was any shorting?
Sometimes yes and sometimes no; depends on where the short occurs. How to properly mount a new board in a case;
1 Remove any standoffs that come already installed in the case
2 Remove the IO plate
3 Lay the new board in the case and mark the spots where you need to install standoffs. I use a sharpie however you can also use a pencil
4 Remove the board and install standoffs in the places marked and no where else
5 Install the IO plate that came with your motherboard
6 Lay board in the case and slide into the IO plate. Secure with the screws that came with your case

Done.
You are not by chance trying to reuse an old dell, hp or other big box case are you?
 

Booja

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2020
Messages
5
I recently had a RAM compatibility issue with a friend's Ryzen build.
Make sure your RAM is on the motherboard manufacturers "approved" list.
RAM should not be an issue. I tested with different sticks following the motherboards manual book on which slots to connect to. I even tried other slots for fun. Does not seem to be any damage on any components. "Vengeance LPX DDR4 modules are compatibility-tested across AMD Ryzen"
 

Booja

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2020
Messages
5
Sometimes yes and sometimes no; depends on where the short occurs. How to properly mount a new board in a case;
1 Remove any standoffs that come already installed in the case
2 Remove the IO plate
3 Lay the new board in the case and mark the spots where you need to install standoffs. I use a sharpie however you can also use a pencil
4 Remove the board and install standoffs in the places marked and no where else
5 Install the IO plate that came with your motherboard
6 Lay board in the case and slide into the IO plate. Secure with the screws that came with your case

Done.
You are not by chance trying to reuse an old dell, hp or other big box case are you?
Im using a modern pc tower case. I'll try removing and installing it again tomorrow, i'll update once its done.
1603935692775.png
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,248
Nice case. I am using the 275R model. Very quite, runs cool with good airflow.
 

Booja

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2020
Messages
5
After trying to not only boot the PC with the motherboard outside of the case, still blackscreen. I tried reinstalling again with the standoffs, same result even though i tried with a different graphic card and ram that i know works and are compatiable. I have come to conclusion that the CPU is faulty and i will update once i get it replaced.

Any last resort ideas?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,248
You may in fact have a bad processor OR it may have been damaged when you swapped motherboards. You may also have a bad motherboard. Since your previous board did not support the processor without a bios update, this is really the first board you have used.
It can be either one and at this point it really is a toss up as to which one you swap next.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top