1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MSIE doesn't always open maximized

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Tom Seeley, Aug 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tom Seeley

    Tom Seeley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    280
    I'm not sure this question belongs in this forum or in "all other software". So, sysops, feel free to relocate it if necessary. It's about MSIE v6, not Windows per se.

    I'm running what's shown in my sig. Occasionally, not always, MSIE opens in a less-than-full screen sized window, whereas I always run it maximized and that's always how I'm running whenever I shut down and Windows supposedly "saves settings".

    Any particular reason why?

    Obviously, it's a no brainer, but I'm curious why things don't always work the way they're supposed to.
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Right click on the shortcut from which you are opening IE at the start and select "properties"

    Does the "run" field there say "run maximized" or "run normal"? Make it maximized if necessary.

    If you are referring to "new" windows, I think that has always been the default with IE 6, it opens in a reduced window. IE 7, with "tabbed" browsing can open in a full window if you choose the "tab" open option.
     
  3. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    how do you "tab open"?
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You get IE 7 or use Opera :) or Firefox.
     
  5. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    no, ie6
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    That's the point, there is no "tabbed" browsing in versions of IE prior to 7.
     
  7. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    never mind then, thanks.
     
  8. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    Yes there is an IE6 but no tabbed browsing. You'll just have to wait or download the beta version.
     
  9. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    me, the guy who doesn't do updates because of all the problems that are seen here, do a beta version of anything.

    i'll do my hair orange and green 1st.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/489115

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice