1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MSIE error

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by robertr2, Nov 21, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. robertr2

    robertr2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    I am using Charter @Home cable access along with WinME, and a computer with a lot of horse power.
    When I access the internet using MSIE6 directly I get way to many MSIE errors mostly pointing to user32.dll errors.
    However when I access through @Home I don't get these errros.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    What do you mean by when using MSIE6 directly vs. @Home? Do you mean if you start from @Home home web page no errors occur? What are the complete MSIE errors you are receiving? They may give a clue what is causing the problem.

    Happy Thanksgivings
     
  3. robertr2

    robertr2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Yes, if I start at @Home I get no errors, but I do when I start with the MSIE icon.
    Here is some additional information. This is the message(s) I receive:
    Microsoft Internet Explorer
    Microsoft Internet Exploere has encountered a problem and has to close.We are sorry for this inconvenience.ETC,ECT.
    Please tell Microsoft about this problem. ( Here it gives me an option to send an error report to MS). http://watson.microsoft.com/dw/1033/dcp.asp. I went to this URL but it was no help.
    Here is what the error report contained:
    ERROR SIGNATURE
    AppName:iexplore.exe AppVer:6.0.2600.0 ModName:usr32.dll
    ModVer:4.90.0.3000 Offset:000059ea
    Thank you for your reply.
    Happy Thanksgiving.
    Bob Burns
     
  4. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    I could not view the link you provided. Can you post the begin of the error here for us to view?
     
  5. robertr2

    robertr2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Hi Dan,
    Thanks for the reply.
    I don't know why the link won't work, but if you copy and paste or type in the URL it will work. (At least it did for me).
    In my previous post I quoted exactly the error message I received. If that is not what you want or is not enough information please let me know, and I will try to be of more help.
    Bob Burns
     
  6. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
  7. robertr2

    robertr2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Why do you suppose that I get these errors using MSIE directly, but not when I access using @Home? Aren't I using MSIE even though I accessed it through @Home?
    Thanks for the links. I will take a look at them.
    Bob Burns
     
  8. robertr2

    robertr2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    14
  9. robertr2

    robertr2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    14
  10. aerain

    aerain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2000
    Messages:
    191
    I had the same problem and the only thing that worked for me was to reinstall IE6 and your @home browser. I should know, I work for AT&T @Home technical support.
     
  11. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    Robert,

    There is no logical reason why you are having the problem. The Microsoft article may not be a pretty fit but the suggestions should be tried as sometime they may fix your problem as well. If none of the suggestions work try down grading your IE to version 5. To down grade select Start, Settings, Control Panel, Add/Remove Applications, IE, and Remove button. A menu should be displayed with an option to Restore a previous version. Test to see if the problem persists. Then download a new copy of IE 6 and install it.
     
  12. robertr2

    robertr2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Dan,
    Thanks for your suggestion. I think I will try to reinstall MSIE and if that doesn't work maybe reinstall @Home too.

    aerain,
    Thank you too.
    Since you work for @Home what is the latest rumor concerning Charter @Home going bankrupt?

    Bob Burns
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - MSIE error
  1. wolftechlinnk
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    509
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59256

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice