1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MSN 6.0 problem

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by memi_bg, Oct 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. memi_bg

    memi_bg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Hello,
    i hope my english is enough good i to explain my problem with the mesenger:) version 6.0
    old versions work properly
    my OS is Windows 98
    well, when i start my computer ,sign into MSN and try to start a conversation with a friend mSN says " We were not unable to start a conversation with ....... You may want to try again" !
    so, i must uninstall MSN 6.0 to reinstall it ,then it works
    til next shut down, or restart PC
    then again uninstall , reinstall:(
    boring work...
    i have thought Norton antivirus could make problems, uninstalled it and tried MSn messenger
    the same problem
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    33,405
    Hiya and welcome

    You might be behind a firewall or you might be using Internet-sharing software or hardware. If you are behind a firewall, contact your network administrator and request that they see Guide for Network Administrators in MSN Messenger Help. (In the main MSN Messenger window or the conversation window, click Help, and then click Help Topics.)

    Also, make sure that your contact is not behind a firewall. If possible, try this with more than one contact.


    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. memi_bg

    memi_bg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Hi
    thank you for the reply;) No i do not use firewall
    the strange in my case is that MSN 6.0 works when i install it for 1st time after start computer:) just i must uninstall it before to shut down or restart , and to install it again
    also i have tried with a few people in my contact list , we can't have conversation
    tried to find something about this problem in MSN support pages, but couldnt find
    seems i am the onlly one with this prolem:)
    thank you anyway
    regards
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    33,405
    Are you saying that you have to uninstall MSN before shutdown, and reinstall it on bootup? Is that everytime?

    Lets see if a cleanup will help:

    Download Spybot - Search & Destroy from http://security.kolla.de

    After installing, first press Online, and search for, put a check mark at, and install all updates.
    Next, close all Internet Explorer and OE windows, hit 'Check for Problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds.

    That ought to get rid of most of your spyware.

    When you've done all that, go to http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ , and download 'Hijack This!'.
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

    When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
    Press that, save the log somewhere, and please copy & paste its contents to the forum.

    It will possibly show other issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.
    Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.

    Reboot in between running spybot & Hijackthis



    Also, have you run a virus scan lately:

    http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

    eddie
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    33,405
    This is the log:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
    Scan saved at 11:27:32, on 10/20/03
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.1998Gold)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON UTILITIES\NPROTECT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\REALSCHED.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\KEYBOARD\TYPE32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ICQPLUS\VPLUS.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DATECS\FLEX2K.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = about:blank
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = about:blank
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
    about:blank
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) =
    http://keyword.netscape.com/keyword/%s
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet
    Settings,ProxyServer = www.evrocom.net:6667
    R3 - Default URLSearchHook is missing
    N3 - Netscape 7: user_pref("browser.startup.homepage",
    "http://home.netscape.com/bookmark/7_0/home.html"); (C:\WINDOWS\Application
    Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\ni18ehzr.slt\prefs.js)
    N3 - Netscape 7: user_pref("browser.search.defaultengine",
    "engine://C%3A%5CPROGRAM%20FILES%5CNETSCAPE%5CNETSCAPE%206%5Csearchplugins%5CSBWeb_02.src");
    (C:\WINDOWS\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\ni18ehzr.slt\prefs.js)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {A5366673-E8CA-11D3-9CD9-0090271D075B} - C:\PROGRAM
    FILES\FLASHGET\JCCATCH.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program
    Files\Yahoo!\Companion\ycomp5_0_2_3.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {b7c95d40-474d-11d7-9cf9-ec3176099d25} -
    C:\WINDOWS\APPLICATION DATA\RBLLEEYACH.DLL
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program
    Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: vxueesfrcgr - {b7c95d41-474d-11d7-9cf9-ec3176099d25} -
    C:\WINDOWS\APPLICATION DATA\RBLLEEYACH.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} -
    C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLENAV.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: FlashGet Bar - {E0E899AB-F487-11D5-8D29-0050BA6940E3} - C:\PROGRAM
    FILES\FLASHGET\FGIEBAR.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} -
    C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} -
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common
    Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IntelliType] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft
    Hardware\Keyboard\type32.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NPROTECT] C:\Program Files\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec
    Shared\ccApp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec
    Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Advanced Tools Check]
    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~4\ADVTOOLS\ADVCHK.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe
    powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccEvtMgr] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec
    Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common
    Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe
    powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [NPROTECT] C:\Program Files\Norton
    Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ICQ Plus] "C:\Program Files\ICQPlus\vplus.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MsnMsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe"
    /background
    O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler.exe
    O4 - Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.exe.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common
    Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Startup: FlexType 2K.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\Datecs\Flex2K.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED
    PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLENAV.DLL/cmsearch.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page -
    res://C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLENAV.DLL/cmcache.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED
    PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLENAV.DLL/cmsimilar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED
    PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLENAV.DLL/cmbacklinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Download using FlashGet - C:\PROGRAM
    FILES\FLASHGET\jc_link.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Download All by FlashGet - C:\PROGRAM
    FILES\FLASHGET\jc_all.htm
    O9 - Extra button: Net2Phone (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Net2Phone (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: FlashGet (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &FlashGet (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: ICQ Pro (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ICQ (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .swf: C:\PROGRAM
    FILES\NETSCAPE\COMMUNICATOR\PROGRAM\PLUGINS\npswf32.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .dcr: C:\PROGRAM
    FILES\NETSCAPE\COMMUNICATOR\PROGRAM\PLUGINS\np32dsw.dll
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) -
    http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {AE1C01E3-0283-11D3-9B3F-00C04F8EF466} (HeartbeatCtl Class) -
    http://fdl.msn.com/zone/datafiles/heartbeat.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Bridge -
    http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/bs0_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) -
    http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) -
    http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37903.0290740741
    O16 - DPF: {6CB5E471-C305-11D3-99A8-000086395495} (Google Activate) -
    http://toolbar.google.com/data/bg/deleon/1.1.62-deleon/GoogleNav.cab
    O16 - DPF: {03F998B2-0E00-11D3-A498-00104B6EB52E} (MetaStreamCtl Class) -
    https://components.viewpoint.com/ad...unity.aer&title=Atmospherians Community World
    O16 - DPF: {D18F962A-3722-4B59-B08D-28BB9EB2281E} (PhotosCtrl Class) -
    http://photos.yahoo.com/ocx/us/yexplorer1_9us.cab
    O16 - DPF: Win32 Classes - file://C:\WINDOWS\Java\classes\win32ie4.cab



    Still learning about these things, so I'll get someone to check this :)

    eddie
     
  6. Flrman1

    Flrman1

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46,329
    You do have a couple of things in your log that need removing. However, I don't think this is the source of your problem.

    Run Hijack This again and put a check by these. Close all browser windows and "Fix checked"

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {b7c95d40-474d-11d7-9cf9-ec3176099d25} -
    C:\WINDOWS\APPLICATION DATA\RBLLEEYACH.DLL

    O3 - Toolbar: vxueesfrcgr - {b7c95d41-474d-11d7-9cf9-ec3176099d25} -
    C:\WINDOWS\APPLICATION DATA\RBLLEEYACH.DLL

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common
    Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot

    O9 - Extra button: Net2Phone (HKLM)

    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Net2Phone (HKLM)

    Restart your computer.
     
  7. Flrman1

    Flrman1

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46,329
    Have HJT fix this one too:

    R3 - Default URLSearchHook is missing

    Restart
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/170921

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice