MSN Messanger Clone HELP!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Steven715

Hello i have downloaded a file for msn messanger clone called (filename) amsn-0_81.tar.gz i have extracted it in to my Home Directory and i am wanting to start it How can i do it? or do i have to install it?
I am Very New to Linux so please be patient.
If you have to install it how do you do that?
The Version i am trying out is Linux 9.1 and i am useing gorme.
Thanks for any help.

The first thing you should do is to cd to the msn sub-directory that was likely created in your home directory. There you should find a file named FAQ ("frequently asked questions") which will tell you how to install and run the package. If this doesn't answer your questions or you still have trouble, post again and we'll take it from there.

Hope this helps.

Steven715

Right i have tryed what the FAQ Says to do but when i run it (I am using the Run program) it dont do any thing but i am having trouble with the first line of test the FAQ Says

To launch it, do:
cd msn
./amsn
or if this doesn't work, try
wish amsn
If wish command doesn't exist, then you don't have tcl/tk correctly installed.
If "wish amsn" works, but "./amsn" doesn't, edit 'amsn' file and set the
correct path to 'wish' in the first line. By default it's set to:
/usr/bin/wish

And where it says launch it. How do i do this i am using the Run Program from the Start menu thing.

And this is my first line of the amsn text
#!/usr/bin/wish

What do i need to change this to

My user name is steven

Thanks For any help on this as i realey do need this

Try this:

1. Click on the main menu (the G-foot) and select the Run entry by clicking on it.
2. Click on the Advanced tab.
3. In the window next to the Browse tab, either: