Multi-homing Gateway Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dubya008

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
100
we have a problem here at work with the internet connection. I am wondering if any one has any advice

We have cable coming into a Zyxel Presitge Modem
We also have DSL coming into a Westel modem

we have a multi-homing WAN gateway router that is "supposed" to take both (DSL, Cable) and service a switch

we have a 16 port switch that is giving all the computers their internet connection.

The problem is this:
the Dual WAN gateway is not giving internet connection to the switch. We have tried everything we can think of to get this working.

I was hoping some one would have some advice to point us in the proper direction.
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,339
Let me guess....is this a Netgear router you're dealing with?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
1,428
Your post is unclear as to where the break is. Are you using the router to provide dhcp? If so is that side working?

Can you access the routers web interface from a pc?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
The exact make/model of all the components would be a good start here.
 

dubya008

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
100
the cable modem works as does the DSL modem.

We have discovered that the problem lies with the Gateway.
We can access the web router interface from a laptop; the problem is the settings.

the gateway is an Ovislink MH200
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,339
Not sure how that router works, but there should be some configuration on there where you have to set thigns like priority load weighting to tell the router how to path network connections based on load. The other method is to set the route pathing based on failover/fault tolerance. If one of the links fails, the other is used as a backup to maintain internet connectivity. The last alternative is round robin but I don't see many routers configured that way.
 

dubya008

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
100
I think the problem is the specific settings for WAN1 and WAN2.
WAN1 will be cable
WAN2 will be DSL

The router will be providing DHCP
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,339
It's more than just setting up each WAN port. The router has to know how to handle traffic from the inside going out. You need to tell the router which path it should take to get to the internet. I doubt the router out of the box just does a round robin in the path it picks for each session. Are you running any router protocols? BGP has built in to it's protocol the ability to load balance connections based on things like bandwidth and latency.
 

dubya008

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
100
We had a guy come to fix it and he said there was an IP address that the previous employee set up to remote all traffic to his pc. and that was causing the issue. The router was trying to handle the DCHP but could not because a static IP address was already entered in another setting of the router. Thank you all for your help.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top